RSS Feed

Even More Shag

I got a nice Barnes & Noble gift card for Christmas and, after a little thought, I knew exactly what I wanted.  More Shag!DSC01721

I don’t have anywhere to hang more art and Shag’s art is really expensive anyway.  Just by buying a few books, I’ve hugely expanded my collection.  Also, they don’t take-up much room and they’re a boatload of fun, so in this case buying them is a total win.

I picked Shag, Ltd. as the main art book because it encompasses a lot of the work I like.  Party with a Yeti?  Why not?DSC01722DSC01724DSC01725

I also chose Tiki Drinks, which is written by Adam Rocke, illustrated by Shag.  I figured this might be a good choice because eventually we’ll have our bar finished and what better way to celebrate than with a few retro-inspired cocktails. It’s the art that gets me, though. Party with an alien-headed fishbowl man?  Why not?DSC01727

I went ahead and threw Shag Party: Cocktails and Appetizers to Seduce and Entertain (also written by Adam Rocke) in my cart because if you’re going to order, you should order big, right?  It was a good choice because it ended-up having some tasty recipes and my favorite picture of all.DSC01728

I’ve also made the crab rangoon and they’re really good.

Crab Rangoon Trader Vic

1 can (6 1/2 oz.), crab meat, shells removed and well drained.

1 3 oz. package of cream cheese, room temperature

1 tsp. A-1 sauce (I used Worcestershire and it worked fine)

1/2 tsp. garlic powder

24 wonton wrappers

vegetable oil

Mix crab, cream cheese, A-1 sauce and garlic powder.  Place 1 1/2 tsp. mixture in center of wonton wrapper.  Moisten the edges of the wrapper with water; fold in half diagonally and press edges to seal. Repeat with remaining filling and wonton wrappers.  Heat 1/4 inch oil in a skillet over med. heat and fry the wontons until lightly browned, 1 to 2 minutes on each side. Serves 6 (4 each).

So those are the books I’ve actually purchased lately.  There are more Shag books I’d like to get, though, and my birthday is coming up…

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

10 responses »

  1. Shag-a-delic, baby! Great choices all around. So, do you watch “Mad Men”? If so, your pad would be a great location to host a viewing party. I love how you really embrace your home’s origins.

    Reply
    • Christine, I LOVE Mad Men!! I squealed out loud when they revealed Don and Megan’s new apartment. Holy cow! We should have a viewing party sometime, for sure.

      Thank you, we have definitely tried to embrace our home’s modern aesthetic. I had no idea what I was doing when we first bought our house but Retro Renovation helped a lot and I discovered a new-found love for modern along the way. The home we actually owned before this one (with a couple of rentals in between) was a 1926 Craftsman style bungalow and I did the same thing there, subscribing to a Craftsman magazine to understand the house, etc. I guess I just sort of go with the bones and it seems to work 😉

      Reply
      • That is terrific. I have a 1960 ranch. While I love some things about the aesthetic of my ranch home, I really love more of the Craftsman style. I am trying to combine the two in a seamless way. I love the look of layered eras. I really enjoy your blog and your home for that reason.

      • Thank you very much! I like your blog and house, too!! (I’m anxiously waiting to see what you’ve done with that gorgeous green paint!)

      • One more thing – I think that you can very successfully combine Craftsman and mid-century modern styles! After all, Frank Lloyd Wright was designing beautiful Craftsman and Prairie style homes before he was designing the Usonian homes, which were very modern style ranches (before there were “ranches” per se), but they still incorporated a lot of his earlier Craftsman/Prairie elements and were gorgeous! So, yes, combine!!

  2. Yes, indeed! Oddly, during my “Geography of Feng Shui” class, we studied a bit about Frank Lloyd Wright and the development of his signature style (as it related to feng shui). It is just a shame that many of his children died as a result of one of his design flaws (no clearly marked front door/entrance/exit, etc…).

    Reply
    • Yes, that is very true. I rented the Ken Burns documentary about his life from the library and, as it turns out, he really wasn’t a very nice person. He did some pretty rotten stuff to his family, friends, associates, etc. He was an amazing and game-changing architect, though. I guess I appreciate his work and the value it has, but I will say that delving into his life sort of removed some of the luster, if you know what I mean. It was a pretty good documentary if you want to learn more about the man himself. http://www.pbs.org/flw/

      Reply
  3. Hi Jenny! How great! I loved his art the first time you showed it to us, and from what I see, those are really cool books! I love how they have a retro feeling to them…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

