RSS Feed

To Ombre or not to Ombre, that is the Question

Generally speaking, I’m not too much of a trend follower.  That is not to say that I don’t have some trendy items in my home, because I do (glittery orange owl).  Mostly, though, I try to do what I like, within reason, conferring with J when necessary, and trying to keep within the feeling of my home.  In other words, I’m trying to have our home reflect us and not just what’s popular.  That being said, I really like the ombre trend.  I really, really do.  I want something ombre but I don’t know if it’s going to look passe’ in a couple of years.  I guess If I’m going ombre to please myself, though, and not just to follow the trend,  it will always be au current in my book.  I hope.

Anyway, we moved this dresser out of K’s room and are in the process of re-doing things in there.  We’re buying new furniture from IKEA but since we’re buying it piece-by-piece, as we can afford it, it’s taking some time.  This clunky dresser needed to go first in order to make room for her new bed and will eventually be replaced by a Malm piece.
DSC00609 R1
We’ve moved it downstairs to the basement and I’m going to use it for media storage in our TV room.  It definitely needs re-painted, though, and I’m thinking of doing it in a nice greige.  I know that’s not the most exciting color in the world but I found these inspiration pieces and think something like this would look nice in our TV room, such as it is.
beige-ombre-dresser
(Source)
gray-ombre-dresser
(Source)
idea-notebook-ombre-chest-of-drawers-before-after-1112-mdn
(Source)
(Notice how all of these have those nice mid-century modern lines?  Mine is mid-century but not so graceful.  Oh well, we work with what we have.  But, seriously, I just love those legs!!)

Honestly, I guess I have nothing to lose because if I don’t like it, or grow tired of it, I can just re-paint it.  You’re right – I think I’m going to give it a shot.  I feel better now that I’ve talked it over with all of you.  After all, that’s what friends are for 😉

Anyway, I think I’m going to dive-in and ombre!  I’ll show you the results as soon as I get done. Thanks for listening.

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

8 responses »

  1. Go for it! If it interests you, then try it. It is only paint. You can’t go wrong. If you end up not liking it, then at least you can repaint, or sell a ‘trendy’ piece of furniture.

    I just completed an ombre’ dresser (although the dresser didn’t withstand the process) and used a really easy method with only one color and white paint to create the effect – less cost.
    http://decorumdiyer.wordpress.com/2013/02/05/what-up-hombre/

    Reply
    • Hi Christine,

      I did find some “greige” paint on the oops shelf at Lowe’s, which I think will be good, however it’s not very dark. I think if I just go with white, I’ll end-up with too light colors. I don’t think I want to add black, because that might be too harsh, but I do have some darker brown. I’m thinking that might give me something darker but more in the color family? Do you think that would work? I’m sort of thinking out loud…

      Reply
      • Yes, if you add black (or darker brown, gray, etc…), same concept! It is only oops paint. Try a few samples with tooth picks (swirling the paint onto wax paper, or some other ‘throw away’ surface) to see what you like best. Who knows, maybe you will like it mixed with black, brown, or white/combination thereof. I think you will make the best of it and be surprised.

  2. Please, show the results as soon as you done it!!!.
    I´m sure you´ll do it so well! 😉

    Have a nice week,
    Laura
    littlefew.blogspot.com

    Reply
    • Hi Laura,

      I worked on it this weekend and I’ll post the pic’s as soon as it’s ready. I’m not sure I’m happy with the colors, though, and I might work on them some more, I’m not sure. I’m probably thinking about it too hard 😉

      I hope you have a great week, too!

      Jenny

      Reply
  3. What can I tell you, Jenny, you know I love ombre by now, I guess, tehee. I like looking at trends, but I’m pretty much like you, doing what I love no matter if it is trendy or not. I do believe ombre looks amazing, and a dresser is such an excellent way to try it. As you just said, if you don’t like it, it’s no big deal. I can’t wait to see the pics!!!!!
    Oh, and about that last comment, I totally get it. I also get too much into my decorating stuff, so bad I can’t really tell if I like it or not. Try giving it a little rest, I’m sure it’ll look pretty amazing!

    Reply
    • Sometimes I go to bed and can’t stop thinking about a project I’m working on. You’re right, Rocio – sometimes you just have to step away from something to get a better perspective.

      I’ll post pictures soon. I still have to put the knobs back. I painted those too and want to make sure they’re good and cured. I was thinking of putting a protective finish on it but I’m still considering re-painting, so I’m going to skip that step until I’m satisfied. See- over-thinking again, ha ha 😉

      Reply
  4. Pingback: I Ombre’d! | sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

