RSS Feed

I Ombre’d!

After discussing whether to ombre or not, I took the plunge and did it!  I wasn’t sure if I liked it but after puting the hardware back on and reassembling the dresser, I think I do.  When the drawers were separated on the floor, it was hard to see the graduation in color.  However, when they’re stacked, you can really see the difference and the effect. It’s sitting in my basement, not in it’s final resting spot, but I wanted to share a quick picture with you.DSC01783
The lighting down there isn’t the best (it’s terrible) but the color doesn’t read much different in real life. It’s in this color palette.  These are not the exact same colors, because I bought one can of unnamed greige off the oops shelf at Lowe’s and mixed in some white I already had to create the different shades, but these colors are very similar.59602395038017393xo0NU1S9c
(Source)

So what do you think?  I’m still kicking around the idea of going darker but I’m going to leave it for now.  I have other projects to which I need to move-on, but I may revisit this at some point.  I like it way more than I thought I did, so that makes me happy.

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

10 responses »

  1. That looks great! The light version is lovely, but I am sure you would have done equally well with darker, too. So, did you use my adding white method or a different approach? So happy that you went for it and that it turned out better than you had expected!

    Reply
  2. I’m not a big fan of the ombre trend, but the subtleness of this looks awesome!! Who would’ve thought to just add white paint? Brilliant.

    Reply
  3. Lovely colours Jenny!! It looks great!! 😀

    Have a nice week!
    Laura
    littlefew.blogspot.com

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Back to the Style Cure | sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

