RSS Feed

Where is Spring?

A year ago I posted these pictures of our beautiful spring flowers.DSC01065DSC01077
This year, our yard looks more like this.DSC01775
Granted, the snow has melted and now it’s just a cold, wet mess.  The daffodils have popped through the ground but there is no blooming going on, that’s for sure.  Saturday, it was cold and gray and we were in Kroger doing some grocery shopping.  I headed over to their floral department because we were having guests for dinner and I was thinking about getting some nice cut flowers. After all, I never did indulge in fresh flowers during the January Cure, so I was thinking that due to spring’s late appearance (that lying groundhog!), now was as good as time as any. I was ready to plunk down 5 whole dollars on a smallish bouquet when I saw this pot of miniature roses.DSC01798
They were marked at $4.99, the same price as the cut flowers.  I put the bouquet back and snatched this puppy up because I know I can plant this outside and it won’t die, unlike the cut flowers.  Plus, I just needed some spring in the house!
DSC01800
The best part is that when I got to the register, they rang-up at $3.99, so an even better bargain!  I’ve been enjoying them all weekend and will definitely set them outside if it ever warms up.

So what about you?  Has spring sprung around your neck of the woods?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

2 responses »

  1. I know, this has been a long Winter! Here in Guadalajara, it’s been something I’m enjoying, because by this time of year, we would be having really hot days, and for once, it’s still chilly. However, when I see pictures like yours, I know it must be really hard for you. Hopefully Spring arrives soon, right? By the way, lovely roses!

    Reply
    • I don’t even mind the colder temperatures as much as the fact that there isn’t any sunshine! It’s just been day after day of gray skies, which is starting to drive me a little nuts. We had the most spectacular spring last year but definitely not this year, yet. I just checked the weather in Guadalajara and I have to say that I am JEALOUS! 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

