RSS Feed

Channeling Our Inner Children

We needed a new sheet set.  The ones we had were getting threadbare in spots and when my pillow case ripped right down the center during the night, I knew it was time to invest in some new ones.  Now, one might think it prudent to invest in some higher-end sheets with a heavy thread count to maximize longevity, thus getting the maximum yield out of one’s dollar.  We didn’t do that.  Instead, we decided to get the ones that make us the most happy.  J saw these almost a year ago at Target and has wanted them ever since.  Sadly, though, when we finally needed new sheets, they no longer had them.  I did find them on ebay, though, for $10 less than they had been at Target, and gleefully bought them.
DSC01832
As soon as they were delivered, I had them out of the package and in the wash (I know they’re wrinkled but I don’t iron sheets, or anything else for that matter).  We were downright giddy.  We even went to bed early because we couldn’t wait to sleep on them.  I wish I were kidding.  I mean, who isn’t excited to sleep on an X-wing fighter?
DSC01833
I don’t know how long they’ll last.  They’re 100% cotton and feel to be the same quality as our other Target sheets.  I had those 7-8 years before they really bit the dust.  Even then, the top sheets are still fine and I’ve replaced one bottom sheet and two pillowcases with some high-end stuff from Ollie’s at the low bargain price of $8.00 total.  So, I’m back to having two functional sheet sets again.  Plus, even if these last another 7 years, I figure that I’ll certainly get my money’s worth.
DSC01835
The best part is that when the bed is made, no one can tell we have Star Wars sheets.  It appears that we have a ‘normal’ bed, ha ha.  J was suggesting that we purchase the still-available matching quilt but it got really bad reviews and, honestly, the burgundy doesn’t match our room at all.  Then I had an even better idea.  I can ask my super terrifically talented mother-in-law to make us a Star Wars quilt.  It could be all black with a panel in the middle, similar to this pillow sham I found on ebay.  That would be sweet!  (Yes, I know I have a bedding addiction.) Okay, I probably won’t really ask her to do that because it would be sort of silly but it’s fun to think about.
$T2eC16NHJHgE9n0yEjMRBRT1c+76fQ~~60_57
So what about you?  Have you indulged your inner child lately?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

4 responses »

  1. I’m jealous! Love “Star Wars”! We have passed our nerdy love of Star Wars to our children. My son would love to have your sheets (and not-so-secretly, so would I).

    Reply
  2. That is so cool!!!! I don’t iron sheets either, nor do I like buying expensive ones… I love how they look!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

