RSS Feed

Birthday Loot!

As promised, my mommy (she’s actually J’s mommy, but she’s my mommy, too) took me shopping at IKEA for my birthday.
DSC01854
I’m going to use the Rotera lanterns outside on our privacy fence. Last year I used some jars I had on hand and wired them to the fence.  That worked well enough but I broke one last fall when I was taking everything down.  They weren’t overly secure in the first place and every time it rained, I ended-up having to empty them.  I’ll hang some hooks for the lanterns and they will be easily moved after each use to better preserve them.  Plus, they just look a little more polished than jars hanging on a fence.

I also bought some more cutting boards and Glimma candles because I pick those up whenever I’m there.  In my opinion, you can never have too many cutting boards or tealights.  I also got a set of Iris dish towels in a happy orange color for my kitchen.

I needed a couple more sets of the Kassett boxes for this mess next to J’s desk.  These will be used to further “Operation Integrate the Studio”, which was started during the January Cure.  I still need to order the frame for our Charley Harper print but one thing at a time, I guess.

DSC01849

Of course, that’s not all I got (there are hints in the picture, ha ha).  I’ll be back with more details because we’re getting ready to do some tweaking to the master bedroom.  Stay tuned.

So, what didn’t I get?
pallra-box-with-lid__0168979_PE322726_S4
I wanted to love this.   I wanted it to be the bright gorgeous yellow as it appears on my screen. Instead, in real life it was a color best described by my mother-in-law as “calf poop grellow” (she grew-up on a farm).  Not at all a color that I really want in my bedroom.  It was very sad.

So what about you?  Have you scored any good IKEA finds lately?  (Or anywhere else for that matter!)

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

8 responses »

  1. Lol, calf poop green! I love your finds and can’t wait to see them incorporated into your home. I feel like i score every time I go to Ikea! I most recently caved and bought wall lamps form there—I just couldn’t pay three to four times as much for non-Ikea lamps!

    Reply
    • I know what you mean about their lighting prices. We’re looking for a new overhead light to replace a ‘boob’ light over our bed. We’ve looked everywhere, online and in stores, and nothing has beat the IKEA light I should have bought when I was there, but didn’t. We’re going to go back and get it, which gives me another excuse to visit 😉

      Reply
  2. Amazing finds! Cain’t wait to see them where you’ll place them. I wish I could score finds at Ikea, I really wish we had one anywhere close to Mexico… sigh!

    Reply
    • Hi Rocio,

      I wish you had an IKEA, too. I bet they’ll get them soon, though. At least I hope so. I know you would love it! I saw that Mexico City got an H&M Home store, but I know you’re in Guadalajara. We don’t have one of those in OH, yet, so I’m hoping for one of those soon.

      XOXO

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Minor Changes to the Master Bedroom | sugarshellandbutterknife

  4. Pingback: Sanctuary | sugarshellandbutterknife

  5. Pingback: The Grand Finale! | sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

