RSS Feed

New Fireplace Screen

I love a good bargain, I truly do, especially when they just fall into my lap.  There was a perfectly good fireplace screen here when we bought the house.  In fact, it looked brand new and never used.  It was awkwardly shaped, and had these weird hinged side-panels that never quite fit inside or outside of the fireplace, but we made it work.  It was fine. Buying a new fireplace screen was the furthest thing from my mind.
DSC01410
The other night I had the most glorious opportunity to wander around Target, unencumbered, looking at every clearance rack and end-cap in the store.  I happened to see a really nice fireplace screen for an unbelievable price.
DSC01881
Yes, that does read “Was $49.99” and “Now $7.54”.  However, since I wasn’t considering a new fireplace screen for our house, because the one we had was ‘fine’, it didn’t occur to me to purchase one. The next day I happened to look-up the fireplace screen on Target‘s website and showed it to J. (It’s still $49.99 on their website, by the way.)  He took one look and said “that looks so much nicer than the one we have,  I can’t believe you didn’t buy it for that price!  We should go back and buy it today, if they still have one.”. “Uh, okey dokey”, I replied, because you don’t have to ask me twice to go to Target, and off we went.
DSC01884
It fits our fireplace perfectly!  I still can’t believe it didn’t occur to me to buy it in the first place and that it was only $7.54 (plus tax)!  I really like it a lot and even ‘styled’ the fireplace with a log and some candles. (I vacuumed the log.  J walked in and asked me what I was doing.  I told him I was vacuuming the log because it look dirty.  He found that to be really funny.  Funny or not, I have a clean log, ha ha.)

I think we’re either going to Craigslist our other one or sell it in an upcoming neighborhood garage sale.  I figure we can at least recoup the $7.54 and even if we don’t, it was worth the price.  We actually do use our fireplace and from a safety standpoint, this one is way better and much easier to handle.

What bargains have you scored lately?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

6 responses »

  1. That looks great! It fits the lines of your hearth much better too. And wow, what a bargain! We have a big fireplace but don’t use it and the other day it occurred to us after four years that we didn’t have to leave the horrible fireplace screen on there. It was one that was attached to the stonework but still..you would have thought that sometime in those four years we would have realized that we didn’t have to look at that thing anymore! : )

    Reply
    • Yes, if you don’t use your fireplace, I’d take off the screen, too. I wouldn’t have one if we didn’t use ours. I like how it looks without one, especially when there’s a fire going, but with wood floors right in front of the fireplace, one popping ember could be really bad. I agree that this square one does look better with our fireplace but I think I love it just as much because of the great price. Bargains make me so giddy 😉

      Reply
  2. Great score! I agree, it makes a big difference. So what if it wasn’t a ‘need’, you can justify it for less than $8.00.

    Reply
  3. It’s an amazing buy, Jenny! I love Target, especially their home section, I really wish it was here! Your fireplace is so pretty!

    I wasn’t sure if you’d read my answer in my blog, so I thought about posting it here as well. Regarding the bed under the window issue, It’s actually a pretty interesting question. It’s not bad luck, nor feng shui, I guess it’s just the way it is here. It feels weird, and kind of “insecure” having a window above the head. Actually builders here always leave a wall for the bed, so there’s generally no need to do so, or one would have a weird arrangement. I really believe it’s just a matter of getting used to it and breaking the mold… all this time I’ve been blogging and reading blogs from everywhere in the world, I’ve noticed it’s something really common in the U.S., and it’s become something I really love.

    Thanks for your comment!

    Reply
    • Thanks for explaining, Rocio! I was just curious when you mentioned that beds aren’t ever placed under windows in Mexico. Interesting to know. Maybe you can break the mold and find a way to put your bed under the window 😉

      As for Target, I love it, too and hope that you get one soon (and IKEA!!).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

