RSS Feed

Modern Landscaping Part 2

As I mentioned in “Modern Landscaping Part 1“, we’re ready to add some modern elements to the exterior of our home.  Right now, we’re sporting a hideous white storm door that stands out like a sore thumb and some bland lighting, not to mention a metal awning that looks a little out of place.  We also inherited the swing with the house and, although I’m not in love with the style, I do love sitting there with a cold drink and fresh magazine.
DSC00578
At the end of our driveway, there are three giant forsythia bushes and an ugly coach light.
DSC01772
(This is, apparently, the only picture I have of our house from this angle.)

Overall, our house looks fine but I think it could look better.  As I said the other day, for some reason I decided to focus on the flower pots first.  I wanted something to replace these plastic beauties that usually sit by the swing.
DSC01162
There is nothing wrong with them, of course, and I moved them to our back patio to live.  I just want something with a little more punch for the front of the house.  I saw some amazing planters in the last issue of Better Homes and Gardens and would like to incorporate something along those lines.  I asked J to create a picture of my ‘vision’ for you and this is what he came-up with. The dinosaurs are his idea, ha ha.
ssabk
I really like these from Crate & Barrel or these from West Elm, but they are a little on the pricey side.
bronze-tall-tapered-planters
img86o
After a lot of searching, we found these guys at Lowe’s.  They are reasonably priced and very well constructed with the modern look we’re going after.  We purchased a tall one and a shorter one for around $40.00 total after using a $10.00 coupon.  That’s not too bad for two extremely heavy and durable concrete planters.
766063725563
I’m also going to give the swing a fresh coat of paint because it’s getting a little rusty in spots.  I haven’t decided if I’m going with the same color, which is pretty much taupe, or if I’m going with something a little more punchy.  I’d also like to get some new pillows for the swing to add a pop of color.  I made these pillows a couple of years ago and they’ve held-up surprisingly well, but I think it’s time to upgrade to actual outdoor pillows.
DSC00652
I’m thinking about these from Target.  I like the colors and the geometric pattern.  They’re also bigger and would have a bigger impact from the street, I think, as far as adding a bit of color and interest to the otherwise bland swing.
Screen shot 2013-04-29 at 9.13.52 PM
If I had tons of money, I would totally upgrade to something like this swing, which really sets my heart aflutter.
swing-500x500
(source unknown)

We’ve also decided to replace the storm door with a screen door since our front door is very air-tight.  We’re going to go with something a lot more low-profile than the white monstrosity that’s on there now.
DSC00578
731677030365
Painted the same color as the front door, it will blend in a lot better from the street rather than screaming “look at me, I’m a WHITE door that matches absolutely nothing”.  We’ll still have a white garage door but one step at a time, I guess. We’re also going to replace the ho-hum light by the front door with something a little more modern like this light I found at Menards.
60-533
Finally, we hope to find some modern-looking house numbers to replace the ones by the door.  The ones we have now are looking a little rough after years of being weathered.

That’s what we’re planning for this summer.  Long-term, we’d also like to replace the metal awning with something along these lines. I love the clean look of this wood awning and think something like this, on a smaller scale obviously, would look great on our house.
Screen shot 2013-04-30 at 8.46.13 AM
I’d also like to remove the forsythia bushes at the end of our driveway and install house numbers similar to what Baz did over at Atomic Indy.
DSC01772
Mid Century Modern House Numbers
I think uplighting the numbers and removing the coach light would be fantastic.

Whew!  So that’s what we’re contemplating for the front of our house. What about you?  Any plans for the outside?  Share!

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

4 responses »

  1. I love those concrete planters! I read on Little Green Notebook that she was making her own concrete planters (!?). It may be worth keeping an eye on. I think the ones your got from Lowe’s are a good deal and have the nice clean lines you were looking for. I’m sorta thinking about getting some plants for our bedroom balcony but we’re looking at houses to move and I’m worried that anything on the balcony will serve as climbing surface for the little one.

    Reply
    • Thanks! I did see a few posts about making concrete planters but decided that I was really too time-deprived right now to attempt that. It might be something I’d be interested in doing at some other point, though, that’s for sure.

      Maybe you can use some of those over-the-fence pot hangers on your balcony so they’re not on the floor? Of course, those might turn into a hanging monkey apparatus, so maybe not… I remember those ‘little’ days. Of course I walked into the kitchen the other day and found my 11 year-old swinging between the fridge and counter, using the ice dispenser as a hand-hold, so maybe those days aren’t exactly over…

      Reply
      • I hear yeah!

        Haha, yes, you can never really predict what kids are gonna do. I do like that idea though—especially because it reminds me of the homes native to my mom’s home town in Germany : ]

  2. Pingback: Swing Refresh | sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

