RSS Feed

Teeny Tiny Project

I have been absolutely slammed with work and kid-running.  Those things have pretty much dominated my life for the past few weeks.  I haven’t had much time to breathe, let alone  complete any real projects.  I did have time for one tiny project, though.  These plate hangers have bothered me for the last six years.
DSC01927
It’s a small thing but the white hangers really stick-out against the black, especially in the view from our bed.
DSC01930
Six years (and 15 minutes) later, after a little Sharpie action, they’re not nearly so noticeable.
DSC01932
DSC01935
That’s much better.  Sure it’s a small thing, but at least I feel like I’ve accomplished something.  I’m fast approaching burn-out and I need some happy projects to keep me sane.  We did get the paint for our bedroom, so that’s a step in the right direction toward our master bedroom upgrade.

DSC01938
DSC01940
Of course, as I knew would happen, the weather is finally nice and we’ve been doing work on the outside when we have a free moment.  We had to get our garden planted and unearth our patio furniture, so nothing has happened with the bedroom, so far, other than the purchase of paint.  One step at a time, I guess.

So what about you?  Are you outside planting away or inside painting up a storm?  Maybe you’re like me and have been so busy you haven’t been able to tackle your projects yet.  Let me know!

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

6 responses »

  1. You and I are so much alike. That, too, would have bothered me until I was absolutely batty and perched on the end of some ungodly stable piece of furniture with a Sharpie. 😉 It does look much, much better. The Devil is in the details! Before it looked like tiny, little fish teeth just waiting to bite (okay, maybe that is just me?). [As an aside, why has my reply taken such a religious theme?]

    Reply
    • I hadn’t really looked at them as tiny, little teeth fish before but now that you pointed it out I can’t see them any other way! I wonder if I’ll have nightmares tonight about the fish coming to get me, ha ha!

      The Devil is in the details, that’s for sure 😉 Sometimes it’s the smallest things that bother me the most.

      Reply
  2. Hooray for small victories!! Love me some Sharpie. When our house was on the market years ago and I had a black island, every little toddler ding that scraped the cabinets got a quick marker touch up 🙂

    Reply
    • We painted one wall of our bedroom black and I used a Sharpie to clean-up the edges. There is no way I could ever paint anything that straight. I’ve also used Sharpies to fix dings in our black IKEA furniture. Yep, I love me some Sharpie, too 😉

      Reply
  3. I can’t believe it, it’s such a tiny change, and yet so huge!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

