RSS Feed

A Couple of Things

I’ve had my eye on this Shiitake kitchen towel from Crate&Barrel  for a while now.  It’s so unbelievably cute!
shiitake-dishtowel
It’s on sale right now for $3.95 but the shipping is $4.95, which makes it a rather expensive towel, at least in my world.  Unfortunately, the closest Crate&Barrel store is over an hour away, so I can’t just run out and pick one up.  Last weekend my friend and I had the chance to go shopping, though, and I finally snagged one.
DSC01949 R1
I love it!  That is $4.00 worth of happy hanging right there.  The website says “quantities are limited” so if you want one, better get it soon.  J asked me if he was allowed to use it or if it was just for ‘show’.  I told him he could use it because it’s silly to buy dish towels that can’t be used but secretly I didn’t want him to use it.  I actually want to sleep with it under my pillow and keep it close to me at all times.  However, in an effort to appear normal, I’ve been using it to dry dishes.

Also, our friend JZ gave us this really cool vintage marble chess set.  He loves mid-century, too, and had this sitting in his house.  He decided it would look better in our house and surprised us with it one day.
DSC01956
It’s really nice and does, in fact, look great in our house.  Thanks, JZ!  You can visit it anytime you want!
DSC01957 R1
So what about you?  Did you recently procure any little things that make you happy?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

10 responses »

  1. Holy Shiitake! That is one cute towel! (Sorry, I couldn’t resist.) I love the chess set, too. “JZ”? I bet you get a few eyebrows raised when you casually mention your friend, “JZ”. 😉

    You know me, my coveted faux bamboo – ANYTHING – make me happy.

    Reply
    • Ha ha! We’ve made a couple of ‘shiitake’ jokes as well, tee hee 😉 Our JZ definitely isn’t that Jay Z, although I would love to hear JZ try to rap. That would be priceless.

      Faux bamboo is awesome!

      Reply
  2. I love the towel! I recently received a sewing machine from my boys for mothers day….. hmm I think that I would have to make a little pillow out of that towel just so that I could snuggle with it. 🙂

    Reply
  3. I’m glad you got the towel–it’s very cute! You could also turn the towel into something else if you don’t want to use it as heavily, like a pillow or something.

    Reply
  4. I buy all my dishtowels from Crate &Barrel. I haven’t looked lately or I probably would already have that one. I love their dishtowels.

    Reply
  5. Oh!! it´s so nice!!!!
    Have a lovely week Jenny!!!
    Laura ;-D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

