RSS Feed

Swing Refresh

This is where I started out two years ago, with some homemade pillows, a wadded-up hose, a sorry-looking flower pot and a greenhouse over the window well.
DSC00654
Here’s where we’re at now with some gorgeous new pillows, a nice hose reel, the window cover removed and some updated modern looking pots.  Oh, I’ve refreshed the swing with a nice paint job, as well.
DSC01960
(That thing sitting on the vent is a large hive that fell out of our tree. There’s nothing living in it now, don’t worry.)
DSC01968
My fluffy cat apparently wanted to be on the blog since she kept wandering into the pictures.DSC01965
So that’s a bit of my evolutionary tale regarding our swing.  What about you?  What’s evolved around your house?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

4 responses »

  1. It’s a lovely transformation, especially the pillows and the planters!

    In our place, there have been quite a few changes in the last year. It is pretty impressive when I look at past pictures, and then I look at the present day. That’s when I realize I’ve come a long way. And yet, there is so much more I wish I could get done. I hope someday soon 🙂

    Reply
  2. I love those pillows! So pretty! My house is relatively new to me (it was built in 1918 but we moved in 4 years ago) and it’s been a total evolution process. It’s old so it needs lots of updates and I love comparing the pictures once we finally finish a project. This summer is Project: Patio. It’s off to a slow start but I’m hopeful!

    Reply
    • It certainly is a process, that’s for sure! This is our third year in this house (this weekend is our move-in anniversary!) and we’re still working on things. There is a big portion of our basement that I haven’t even touched yet but one step at a time. Good luck with Project Patio!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

