RSS Feed

Sanctuary

We’re getting there with the master bedroom floor.  The scraping is done and I owe you a post.  Today we’re having a flooring guy in to give us an estimate on sanding since we’re not sure what we’re doing.  The inside of our house is a mess due to our larger-than-expected bedroom floor project and we’ve been hanging-out on the patio a lot. It has become my sanctuary from the chaos.

I hung these inexpensive lanterns in the tree using some ribbon, staples and paperclips.  It’s sort of a low-brow solution but looks great at night when they’re all lit.DSC02033

K loves them and was taking lots of pictures to show her friends on Tumblr.  This has been my view every evening and I feel so blessed to be able to live here surrounded by nature.
DSC02058

I also got these lanterns for our privacy fence during my birthday trip to IKEA and they have been a real improvement over last year’s jars.
DSC02027

I found this candle stake in our shed a few weeks ago.  I’m not sure how we missed it before.  It had to belong to the previous owners but it’s ours now!
DSC02029

I’ve been stalking Craigslist because I’d like to replace these plastic adirondack chairs with something nicer but they work well in the meantime.  I think a conversation set with an outdoor love seat would be awesome but so far I haven’t run into anything that screams my name or is in my price range.  Patience is key when it comes to dealing with Craig and his list.
DSC02040

Of course, we hung our globe string lights again.  I absolutely love them.  They give our patio such ambience.
DSC02060
So where is your sanctuary when things get a little chaotic?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

2 responses »

  1. Your garden is so beautiful!!! I love these candles & lights!!!
    Have a nice weed Jenny!!
    Laura

    Reply

Leave a Reply

