RSS Feed

Clean Slate

The master bedroom floor is finally finished!  Our floor guy put the final coat of poly on Sunday morning and, after giving it a good long drying time, we can finally start moving everything back-in the room.

We went from here
DSC02001
to here
DSC02004
to here
DSC02065
and, finally, here!
DSC02077
DSC02081
I am so happy, excited and relieved.  What a crazy adventure this project has been!  I can finally put order to the chaos.  Also, I think J and I have finally come to some sort of resolution concerning the light fixture.  We had been seriously considering the Calypso light from IKEA, which is economical and somewhat period-appropriate.  In fact, I was this close to going to IKEA this week and picking-up one. However, after sleeping in the living room for nearly three weeks and making use of the only ceiling fan in the house, it occurred to us both that, although usually stylistically blah, a ceiling fan might be a much better investment than a light fixture.  The truth is we never use the overhead light in our bedroom but we would use a fan. Plus, I just hate looking at the boob.
DSC01876
The trick is finding a ceiling fan that’s both modern-looking and economical and  I think we have a winner.
6bd43559-119b-4475-8b10-4e77ce119526_300
This Hampton Bay Florentine ceiling fan is currently selling for $99.00 on Home Depot’s website. A ceiling fan had never crossed my mind because I really don’t care for the way they usually look but boy-howdy they sure are nice on a hot sultry night.  I have tried to make sure that everything we do in the house is period appropriate and aesthetic.  I don’t know if this ceiling fan fits that bill but  J and I agree on it, so that’s enough for me.  Plus, I’m tired of looking at light fixtures and am ready to move-on to another project, so ceiling fan it is!

Finally, on a completely unrelated note, Jen from Baking Bohemian nominated me for the “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award”.  Thank you, Jen!  What an awesome surprise!
sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-award
Baking is one of my favorite hobbies and I love Jen’s blog.  She posts the best-looking stuff, you know the sort of yummy things that make you want to lick your computer screen but you refrain because you know from past experience that saliva is really hard to clean off these new-fangled LCD’s.  Yeah, it’s like that and I highly encourage you to check it out for yourself.

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

12 responses »

  1. Woohoo! Looks amazing! I’m always stunned when people put hardwood over beautiful wood flooring. I would never ever do such a thing! Lay excessive amounts of rugs over them, maybe ; ]

    Congrats on your blog nomination. It’s well deserved!

    Reply
    • Thanks! I can’t imagine why these gorgeous floors were covered either. It was probably a whole lot easier to put the carpet down than it was to take it up! One day when I die, if the new owners put wall-to-wall again, I will come back and haunt them, ha ha!

      Reply
  2. Great job! THAT is one major accomplishment. My husband refinished our floors that had much the same problems, just not to that degree. Your floors look beautifully.

    As to the ceiling fan, I couldn’t agree more. In an effort to not use our air conditioning, but also to aid in efficiency with our air conditioning and heating, we use our fans daily. I especially love sleeping under the whirl of the fan with the windows wide open, as I listen to the sounds of frogs, insects, and birds at night. My favorite way to fall asleep. (Of course, one can’t forget watching the fireflies/lightening bugs.) Go with what makes sense to you.

    I know most people think fans are hideous, but they are practical. I have seen this fan recently in Lowe’s (would love to have it in my living room), but the price tag is too much for me at this moment. http://www.lowes.com/ProductDisplay?productId=3576600

    Reply
    • Thanks for the confirmation on the ceiling fan decision. We’ve had them before, but it was a long time ago and I guess we forgot what a pleasure they are to sleep under. (I love the summer night sounds, too. What a symphony!)

      I went to the link you gave and I see the fan is located in the drum shade – what an intriguing idea! Way less conspicuous!! But yeah, the price tag is a little high… Not in our budget either 😉

      Reply
  3. Jenny, that´s a beautiful floor!!! I love it, it looks great!!! ;-D
    Have a nice week sweetie!
    Laura

    Reply
  4. Wow Jenny, your room looks amazing, what a gorgeous floor!!!!!! I think the fan option is great, and it doesn’t bother me personally, I think it is actually pretty 🙂

    Have a nice one!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: DIY Light Blocker | sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

