RSS Feed

The Grand Finale!

We’ve moved everything back in the master bedroom and I’ve pretty much been spending all of my ‘free’ time in there (so maybe 10 minutes a day, ha ha).  Seriously, though, it’s my favorite room in the house right now.  I can’t believe what a difference the floor has made.  It’s so clean and modern-looking. It’s exactly the way I thought it would be in my head, with an added bonus. Since we started this project, I started to feel a little ambivalent, even a hint of disdain, for my no-longer available IKEA Aneboda bedroom furniture. I don’t know why.  It’s in nice shape, serves us well and is overall fine looking. Maybe I thought we should move-up to something nicer (i.e., more expensive) since we were putting so much time and money into the floor. However, seeing it’s white chunky legs (not mine, but the furniture’s) on the warm honey-toned wood has made me fall in love with it, which is good because new bedroom furniture is definitely not in the budget.  Besides, the sanest and most economical choice for us right now is learning to love what we’ve already got.  I’m just going to admit it – I spend far too much time looking at new shiny things on the internet, which is a whole lot of fun, don’t get me wrong, but it starts to fuel this desire in me to discard perfectly good things to buy new things.  I rarely do that, actually, because I keep most of my stuff for a really long time, but it does make me feel sort of pouty when I can’t have those things, which is just stupid. I neither need nor can afford new bedroom furniture. I already have nice, affordable bedroom furniture.  So why does that make me feel crappy? I don’t know, it just does. Must be the grass is always greener thing, or the human instinct to consume.  At any rate, when I looked down and saw my formerly crappy old Aneboda furniture sitting on my gorgeously restored hardwood floor, I thought “THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT I WANTED!!!!”, which makes me a very happy girl indeed. See what I mean?
DSC02102
(I seriously need to put some paper or something in the fronts of the drawers because my haphazardly piled clothing does look kind of sloppy.)

DSC02103
DSC02104
Remember these rugs I got during my birthday trip to IKEA?  I’ve been so excited to finally use them.
DSC02105
DSC02113
DSC02119

When we first moved-in three years ago, I found this inspiration picture on RetroRenovation.
1967-dramatic-yellow-white-black-bedroom-1
I never set out to recreate it but rather wanted to capture the spirit of the room, which I think I’ve accomplished.  It’s been a three-year journey to get here and I’m calling this room done, with the exception of replacing the ceiling light with a fan.  Who knows when that’s happening, so we’re moving-on to other projects, like sitting on our patio and enjoying summer.  Of course I can’t quite stop myself from constantly planning projects and while we were in the middle of working on our bedroom, N decided that he wants a ‘new’ bedroom, too.  The theme? Minecraft, of course.  Stay tuned because that might be the next big thing…

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

9 responses »

  1. I am so happy for you and your lovely bedroom. I know you don’t want to recreate the image from Retro Renovation, but girl…, go for it! [Can you tell I have had a glass of wine…, or two?]

    Reply
  2. It’s beautiful—I’m so glad you did it!

    Reply
  3. I think covering up the glass dresser drawers would be a great way to bring your room closer to the inspiration room. Anyway, it is pretty cool and very Ikea just the way it is. I am a big Ikea fan, so my comment about it was a compliment.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: A Book about Books | sugarshellandbutterknife

  5. Pingback: Inspired by Minecraft | sugarshellandbutterknife

  6. Pingback: Fresh Flowers (?) and The January Cure | sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

