RSS Feed

A Book about Books

I found a book at the library a couple of weeks ago titled  Books Make a Home – Elegant Ideas for Storing and Displaying Books by Damian Thompson.  I’m going to preface by saying I vow to return this book to the library but I sure don’t want to.  I kind of want to keep it, which means I might have to scout around for a reasonably priced used copy.  I’ve found myself flipping through its pages over and over again.  I love books but I don’t buy a lot of them.  Mostly I borrow them from the library, partly as a cost-saving measure and partly so I don’t have tons and tons of books that I have to store.  This book almost makes me wish that I did have tons and tons of books so I could display them in some fabulous way.  In reality I actually like tidy uncluttered surroundings but my fantasy house has stacks and stacks of  books in some cozy Costwolds cottage fashion, just begging for a nice hot cuppa tea on a blustery day.
DSC02185
There are so many great ideas and inspiring photos in this book. It’s one of those books that offers an escape for awhile. Plus, I absolutely adore the picture on left wall in the photo below.
DSC02174
The picture below looks better suited to my actual house, rather than my fantasy house although it’s very nice just the same. I do like the mid-cenutry modern vibe going on there and could easily live with that amount of books on display. There are enough to make an impact but not so many that it’s overwhelming.
DSC02176
There is definitely a hidden door in the library of my fantasy house.
DSC02177
The lamp in the picture below is amazing! It’s a desk lamp for giants! Also, that’s wallpaper that looks like shelves of books, made from a photograph of shelves of books with no repeat in the wallpaper.
DSC02179
I like the books on the open shelves in the background of this Scandinavian-looking home, another one of my design loves.
DSC02181
The headboard below opens to reveal bookshelves. I would like to have something like this in our bedroom but I’m not even thinking about our bedroom right now. Nope, that room is done.
DSC02183
I love the look of  a simple stack of books. I often keep a stack of books by my bed, mainly because I’m reading them, but also because I like it that way. They never fail to make me smile.
DSC02188
Here’s the stack I currently have checked-out from the library. That’s another great thing about borrowing books from the library – you can decorate with them for a few weeks and change them out again.
DSC02198
So what about you? What are your secret, or not so secret, design loves, even if you don’t embrace them in your reality house? How do you display your books? I have my stack pictured above and a bookshelf in our basement family room full of them. This book has really got me re-thinking some things, though, that’s for sure.

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

10 responses »

  1. I love books and have always dreamed of displaying them and eventually creating a library of sorts within my home. Trouble is, we seem to keep moving and with each move I take less and less with me. And within the past year or so I’ve had a handful of silverfish come from my collection—yuck! I do feel like your home should be a reflection of how you live and like you, I mostly borrow books from the library. So my stance on books is evolving. I’d love to have some on a coffee table one day when my home isn’t sticky hand proof : ]

    Reply
    • Ugh, silverfish. I’ve had that happen before, too, especially with the ones I’ve stored in the basement. A not-so-pleasant surprise!

      With regard to displaying books, it seems there are two camps (and some in betweens) – the purists, who think that one should have only the books one would actually read, and the displayers, who seem to have them for strictly decorative purposes. As much as I am an avid reader, I fear I fall more into the second camp. Truthfully, I usually read a book one time and then move on to something else. I have re-read a few books and have a handful of books I actually return to over and over. Mostly, though, I rent them from the library, return them and find something new to read. There are so many books and so little time! That goes back to what you said about a home being a reflection of how you live. In my case, displaying a bunch of books would not be a reflection of how I live and rather impractical. However, in my fantasy house they are everywhere!

      Reply
      • Sounds like an interesting read, for sure! I rarely read a book twice. Like you said, there are so many books out there! I could see myself bending the rules for a set of National Geographics or the like—love those yellow spines!

  2. Ohhh, nice books Jenny!!! I love big decor books too!!! ;-D
    Have a nice day sweetie!!

    Laura

    Reply
  3. It looks amazing, Jenny! Sure wish I had my hands on it 🙂 I don’t have much space for books in our home, so right now I only display them on our shelves over our tv. I really would love to have bookshelves all around the house, but it’s so tiny I can’t!

    Reply
  4. What a great idea for a book! Love all those ideas! 🙂

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Another Post About Books | sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

