RSS Feed

Inspired by Minecraft

My 11 1/2 year old is consumed by Minecraft these days and while we were working on our master bedroom, N asked if he could re-do his room next.  I asked  him what he had in mind and, of course, the answer was “Minecraft”!  I have to say that I had no idea what Minecraft even looked like.  I know he loves playing the game, he’s shown it to me before, but I hadn’t paid much attention because video games don’t really interest me.  As a kid, I received an Atari 2600, which was coveted by every kid in the neighborhood but me.  I wanted something else, what I no longer recall, but my mother bought me the game system instead because she knew it was popular and thought I would really like it, bless her.  So when my son told me he wanted to decorate his room like a video game, my mind pretty much went blank. Where to even start?

Coincidentally, Apartment Therapy ran a post about a Minecraft inspired room and I showed it to N to see if it was along the lines of what he wanted. He liked it a lot.
519ebaa274c5b6655d0007d3._w.540._s.fit
(image from Apartment Therapy)

It certainly gave me a starting point and I have to say if he was going to pick a video game as his inspiration, this one at least has some cute design possibilities.  N and I sat down together and did some quality mother/son web surfing to get an idea of how he would like to decorate his room.  He found some items that he feels are “must have”.  He definitely wants posters and we found these two on ThinkGeek:
$T2eC16h,!zcE9s4g4wQgBRw0EZLefQ~~60_3
$T2eC16R,!zEE9s3!((qnBRmZwCu1Pg~~60_3
N really likes the first one and I really like the second one.  I made the mistake of gushing over it a little too much, using words like “cute” and “steampunk”.  He was eyeing it suspiciously after that but I made sure to dial it back.  Too much enthusiasm can have the opposite effect with 11 year old boys.  They want their mothers to approve but not to embrace.  If he remotely thought I might want that poster for myself, forget it. (But I really do like it!)

He also decided that he needs either the pickax or the sword for his wall.  They’re cute but they’re $20.00 a piece, which too much for a foam implement.  They’re available at ThinkGeek, as well, although I’m going to find a way to DIY them.  We’re on a budget after all.
ea12_minecraft_sword
e847_minecraft_pickaxe

He would also like to get this torch light, which I have to admit  is really cool.  This is also available at ThinkGeek, but I’ve seen it on ebay as well.
ee3d_minecraft_wall_torch_inhand-1
It can be mounted to the wall like a torch and I have a great idea of where to put one in his room.  It’s a little pricey at nearly $40.00, but this is one thing I’m not sure how to DIY. Plus, I’m not sure I wouldn’t have $40.00 worth of materials in it when I was done anyway.

We also found two DIY projects we want to make.  N really liked a picture of a Creeper pillow he saw on etsy and wants one for his new couch (yes, he got a new couch!) and he also saw a dirt cube footstool on IKEA Hackers and wants one to prop his feet on while playing video games.
il_570xN.197367346
(image by PixelCrafter on Etsy)

IMG_1803-756191
(image by Nonny Mouse on Ikea Hackers)

I feel confident that we can complete both of these DIY’s, at least to some degree.  I’d like to keep the overall cost of this makeover down because in addition to ‘decorating’, we’ve also bought him some new furniture.  When we were discussing how to make-over his room, I asked him some questions regarding the form and function of the space.  He’s getting older and the bed on a trundle frame just wasn’t cutting it anymore.  He described a “chill-out space” to me and said that’s what he like to have in his room.  Since he’s well into his tween years and I wanted something that would carry him beyond, we finally decided on a loft bed with some sort of couch or futon underneath.  That’s what I’ve been working on for the last week.  On Monday, I’ll show you what we’ve been up to so far. I figure that the main thing is getting the furniture and the decorations are secondary, since he’s liable to change his mind in the future.

So, what have you been working on this week?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

7 responses »

  1. Talk about mother and son quality time. I just love this! (After I stop screwing around with my master bedroom, my eldest son’s room is next as well. I can’t wait to see your progress.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: N’s Furniture Swap | sugarshellandbutterknife

  3. I like that mood board! It looks like a good theme, too! It’s a bit harder to adapt shows like Yo Gabba Gabba without coming off too tacky ; ]

    Reply
    • I know what you mean! This is actually the fourth ‘theme’ we’ve had. When he was very small, he wanted “Dooby Doo” (which was two year old speak for Scooby Doo). When he was 5-6, we went totally Spiderman and then the underwater theme when we moved into this house. All the themes have been his choice but, yes, some are more easily adapted than others and less, ahem, tacky. This one I can definitely work with. 😉

      Reply
  4. Did you finish the room? We are considering the same theme for our 11 and 12 yr old’s bedroom – would love to see how yours turned out!

    Reply
    • Hi Melissa,

      Sadly, no – we haven’t even started his room yet. We got as far as changing out the furniture and that’s been it. My son still wants to do the Minecraft theme so I’m hoping to work on it after the first of the year. I’ll be sure to post whenever we finish.

      Thanks,

      Jenny

      Reply

Leave a Reply

