RSS Feed

N’s Furniture Swap

As discussed last week, my 11 year old son, N, requested a Minecraft room and expressed a desire to upgrade his furniture.  He was using a trundle bed frame as his bed, which has worked fine for the last 8 years, but he is getting older and decided that he really wants a “chill out room”.  After discussing some different ideas, including getting him a captain’s bed, we decided to get him a loft bed with a couch underneath.  He was specific in that it had to be a couch and not a futon.  I started doing my usual Craigslist hunt for the loft bed first and was coming up empty-handed when N had a sleepover at his friend Sean’s house, whose mom is my BFF Jen.  While over at their house, Sean mentions that he would like to get rid of his loft bed and get a futon.  N pipes up and says he really wants a loft bed.  Jen calls me and asks if  N can have Sean’s barely used loft bed and of course I say an emphatic “yes”!  We start talking and she mentions that she’s looking for a trundle frame to go under their eldest daughter’s day bed.  I tell her that I’ll swap our trundle for her loft and a deal was made.  That only left a couch to find, which I did that very same day.  I had been thinking about the SOLSTA sofa bed from IKEA that’s currently selling for $169.00.  I found one in mint condition on CL for $60 and picked it up the next day.  It’s the perfect size under the loft bed and it does convert into a bed for sleepovers, although it’s definitely going to need some padding for that particular application.
solsta-sofa-bed__45647_PE141902_S4
solsta-sofa-bed__57723_PE163358_S4
N has had an underwater theme in his room since we moved in this house three years ago.  It looked great and garnered lots of compliments.  It was perfect for an 8 year old boy, however, the 8 year old is going to be 12 next year and wants something a little more grown up.  Also, while we are going to do a Minecraft ‘theme’, we’re also doing it with the mindset that he’ll probably transition out of that soon enough and we’ll still have some nice foundation pieces to work with.  Here’s the before:
DSC00582
DSC00585
Here’s his room with the new couch and loft bed:
DSC00015
DSC00006
DSC00012
We kept the same nightstand and chest of drawers that he had before.  They’re not exciting but they are serviceable and they’re J’s childhood furniture (make it last!).  So far there is no ‘theme’ going on at all and I like it better, actually. I think it’s a sign that N’s tastes are maturing, as well.  We’re not going to go overboard with Minecraft, just some subtle touches here and there to suggest some serious gaming is going on.  N is absolutely thrilled with his room right now and I’m ecstatic that I got a bed and a couch for $60! That means I’ve only plunked down $95 total for all the furniture in his room, which I think is pretty fantastic.

Loft bed – free (traded for trundle frame)
SOLSTA couch – $60 on CL
Desk – $20 at IKEA (Now selling for $17.99!)
Chair – $5.00 in the IKEA bargain defective furniture department (I could never find anything wrong with it)
Entertainment center -$10 on CL
Nightstand and Dresser – already owned

Total:  $95.00

We’ll start Minecrafting it up shortly, just as soon as I get some more extra moolah to order a few things. In the meantime, what about you? Have you gotten any awesome CL deals lately?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

12 responses »

  1. I think it´s a lovely change! it looks so nice and cozy! ;-D
    Have a nice week Jenny!
    Laura (Littlefew)

    Reply
  2. Looks great! I too am in the middle of a room renovaton for my oldest son, I am painting, redoing furniture adding all new bedding, curtains….etc.. yesterday I spent 13.5 hours straight working on furniture and walls. (the things we do for our children) I will post pictures when complete. I really like the update in your son’s space 🙂

    Reply
  3. How wonderful! You are my kind of room decorator. So thrifty, so personalized. I adore how you think about your son’s thoughts and wants. He is so lucky to have a mother that cares so much about his space. Often, bloggers design a room for ‘likes’ and ‘comments’ and not for whom the room is truly for. I enjoy reading about your process and thoughts. Thank you so much for sharing.

    Reply
    • Awww, thanks Christine! What a nice compliment! I think you and I have a similar mindset when it comes to decorating. I want things to look nice but I know my budget and limitations in a real world application. Also, you’re right – I’m not trying to ‘design’ my son’s room for the blog, I’m trying to give him a space he’s happy with and will use for a long time to come. After all, he’s the one that has to live in his room.

      Reply
  4. I have that sofa for our son’s room, too! It’s a great little couch : ]

    Reply
  5. I bet he’s in HEAVEN with that super cool loft bed! It looks great!!

    Reply
    • He LOVES it! I actually thought of you when I was making the trade with my friend Jen. You have this great knack for finding free, or almost free, things and making it all work together. I had been searching Craigslist for a couple of weeks but I knew if I waited long enough, the perfect thing would fall in my lap and it did.

      Reply
  6. Hi Jenny!

    Sorry it took me a little to come here, but as you know, I’ve been quite busy with all the Little Haus stuff to do… I’ve got lots of things to tell you, so here’s a large comment. Hope you don’t mind 😉

    First, I love the change in your son’s bedroom! My daughter is a Minecraft fan too, so I know all about it! Can’t wait to see how you add that touch to it!

    Second, thanks for your insight on the magazine! You are so kind and adorable! It’s been a huge project for Laura and me. Literally, nights without sleep, but I think it’s been worth it. At least I’m happy with the result.

    Gotta tell you, you were among the very first to see it! And I love what your husband said about my living room. It really made my day!

    So, I just want to thank you once again for all your support. The best thing about blogging for me, by far, is precisely making friends with such wonderful people like yourself. And I am so happy for that.

    😉

    Reply
    • Thank you, Rocio! I’m so glad to have found you, too! I really feel that I come away with something special every time I read your blog. I definitely count you and Laura among my friends and am honored that I was one of the first to see your magazine. It’s beautifully put together and you did a wonderful job, so those sleepless nights were worth it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

