RSS Feed

Ektorp and the Style Cure

I was super excited when Apartment Therapy announced their Style Cure 2013.  I had fun and accomplished a lot during the January Cure 2013, so I was eager to participate in this project, too.  However, as is often the case, life happened and my participation has been pretty much zilch.
2013StyleCure
The ‘room’ I want to work on is the basement.  We have the best of intentions but we’ve been side-tracked with a myriad of things and nothing has been accomplished in a very long time.  In fact, most of the progress we made has disappeared.  Our basement flooded again this summer and everything got stacked, moved, shoved and I haven’t put anything back.  When we re-finished our bedroom floor, the entire contents of J’s closet was moved down there and still hasn’t been put back.  It is so frustrating.  Also, this has been a very hectic summer and then I got sick for a good two and a half, almost three, weeks with some sort of bronchial infection which sucked all the life and energy out of me.  I’m just now really starting to feel better and the kids have gone back to school.  This is a transitional time and it seems like a good time to start focusing on getting this basement ready for winter.  I know this must be at least my third such declaration.  Probably once for every year we’ve lived here.  I have at least gotten to the assessing phase of the Style Cure and J and I have discussed some of the things we’d like to do down there.

That brings me to the Ektorp, as in we scored an Ektorp loveseat for free!  It’s used and the cover is worn but it’s still in great shape (and we know where it came from) so I’m very happy because one of the things we wanted to do in our TV area is get a new loveseat.  Last week my mother-in-law, aka Mommy, called and asked if I would like to go to the most magical place on earth, IKEA.  She said Aunt L had never been there and she thought I might like to come along because I love it so much.  Of course I said yes, because I wanted to get a new cover for our Ektorp.  There are now two color choices at the very economical price of $39.00 – the Tygelsjö beige and the Blekinge white.  I was really leaning toward the beige because the cover has a nice sleek look to it and it’s part polyester, which would wash very nicely I think.
ektorp-loveseat__0188824_PE341649_S4
ektorp-loveseat__22346_PE107227_S4
After viewing them in person, however, I decided to go with the white  because I’d read several posts about people successfully dying them because they are 100% cotton and I didn’t think the beige was really dark enough to hold-up to my family. It’s very light and not much darker than the white, which is really more of a natural cream.  I’m going to have them dyed a darker brown which will match the other dyed pieces we have in the family room area.  Up until now we’ve been sporting this slip-covered 1980’s beauty. It’s okay and it’s probably going to get moved to the man-cave, but it is in rough shape.  The kids broke the legs off of it years ago by jumping on the back and it’s been sitting on bricks ever since.
DSC00675
I also bought four of these MALIN TRÅD cushion covers to replace the homemade not-so-great looking ones I made.  These are very nice and pretty well-made, especially for $4.00 a piece!  I couldn’t make them as well or as cheaply.  Plus, they’re multi-colored but sort of muted at the same time and blend well with any color scheme that might be going on.
malin-trad-cushion-cover__0238316_PE377821_S4
After I got home and was re-reading my catalog for the thirtieth time, I happened to notice that there are also MALIN TRÅD curtains available.  This is a nice discovery because I would like to hang something a little heavier and nicer between the man cave/bar area and the family room.  Right now we have some too-short sheers hanging there.  Something like these curtains might be nice and I like that the other side is brown which might be more appropriate for the bar side.
malin-trad-pair-of-curtains__0143452_PE303045_S4
malin-trad-pair-of-curtains__0137637_PE296277_S4
I don’t know, though.  I’ll have to give the division some more thought when we finally have something worth dividing.  Right now I’m just happy to have scored a free loveseat and some new pillows.  Now we just need to do a million other little things down there and we’ll be all set.

What about you?  What projects are you currently working on or contemplating right now?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

13 responses »

  1. Oh, I have the same sort of basement declarations. You are in good company, my dear. Although,your basement appears to be finished, mine is not. 😦 So excited to watch your meet your goals. Go for it!

    Reply
    • Darn! ‘Watch you meet your goals’. I won’t know what to do without a little one in my lap pushing keys.

      Reply
      • You could get a cat after you littlest one gets too big. Cats like to climb on keyboards and push keys for you, too, or at least mine do, ha ha 😉

      • I do have a cat (well, we had two, until recently). The cat stays away because of the children. 😉 Smart cat.

      • 😉 Our cats have gotten better with the children as the children have gotten better with them! Cats don’t like being dressed in doll clothes or spun around in laundry baskets…

      • Really? Huh, maybe that’s what is wrong? 😛

        I know, my children unknowingly torment my little kitty.

      • One day when my son was about 5, I came down the stairs to find him spinning Echo around in a laundry basket. I told him to stop immediately and he said “why, she likes it”! He stopped and the cat looked up at me with one eye open and gave the most pitiful meow. Now that he’s 11 and playing video games, she drapes across his lap and sleeps for an hour, which is much more to her liking, ha ha.

    • Sadly, our basement isn’t finished. It’s faux finished with painted cinder block, painted concrete floor, although only in one area, ugly drop ceiling, the works. At this point we just want to make it a livable and useable space. Thanks for the encouragement, though! We’re really going to give it the old college try this time!

      Reply
  2. I’ve never heard of the style cure before. Thanks for introducing us to it! Is this a twice a year type thing? I can’t seem to piece it together from the Apartment Therapy website. Looking forward to seeing you basement come together—I think it’d be fun to have one of those!

    Reply
  3. Hey Jenny, I didn’t know about this style cure! It sure sounds like fun! Eventhough you didn’t finish it, you made some progress, and that’s great! August flew by so quickly for me, I didn’t get to make any changes at home, but at least I made the headboard for my brother, and we also launched the magazine. So all in all I guess I did make some progress, but my to-do list is still soooooo very long!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Back to the Style Cure | sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

