RSS Feed

A Tale of Two Lunch Boxes

Way back when my son was starting first grade and my daughter was starting fourth grade, I purchased two lunch boxes. With my son starting all-day school, I wanted something durable that would last a long time. We had those plastic ones with cute cartoon logos that didn’t hold much and always seemed to come unlatched. Plus, they seemed to have a short life-span and my daughter was already on her second one.  I pretty much always pack their lunches, unless there is something they really, really want in the cafeteria that day, which is pretty rare. I knew that I would be using these nearly every day and wanted to get the best product I could find in my budget.  I finally found the ideal lunch tote, which sadly appears to be no longer available.
DSC00045
Now my son is in sixth grade and my daughter is a freshman in high school and, as you can see, these lunch boxes are still going strong. My mother-in-law made the name tags and has updated them over the years as their tastes have changed. Those name tags have been great and they’ve never lost their lunch boxes. Even the school janitor knows to whom they belong when they’ve occasionally been found in some inexplicable place.  Another plus is that they are completely washable.  I just throw them in with a load of laundry and air dry them over night which comes in handy when someone forgets to screw their thermos lid on tight and brings you home a lunch box full of spaghetti-o sauce.  The fabric is made out of recycled water bottles which makes me feel good about them, although it was not a major factor in my purchase. I was just looking for something affordable and durable. The fact that they are recycled is an added bonus.
DSC00046
I bought these lunch boxes from reuseit.com and, even though this model is no longer available, it appears that there are a couple of other options made from the same durable material.  There is this medium-sized model which seems nice.
Screen shot 2013-08-28 at 11.35.05 AM
There is also this slightly smaller-looking model.
Screen shot 2013-08-28 at 11.40.07 AM
I don’t know how these newer models compare to our trusty lunch boxes but if the quality is even half as good, they should last quite a long time.  By my estimation, I’ve packed each child approximately 900 (20 school days a month for nine months each year) lunches over the last five years , and they are still going strong.  My son has six more years of school, so we’ll see if these lunch boxes can make it through a whole school career.  I’m rooting for them, that’s for sure.  It will be a bittersweet day when I pack the last lunch but, thankfully, I have some time to adjust to that idea, which might make me start to cry if I think about it for too long, so I won’t.

This is not a sponsored post.  I just wanted to share this product/brand in case anyone is looking for a durable lunch tote. It’s too bad the ones we have aren’t available any more because they are such a great size but the newer models look nice, too, and I would be willing to give them a shot should anything ever happen to our beloved lunch boxes.

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

4 responses »

  1. Ah, packing school lunches. Your children’s lunch boxes are perfect. The newer versions seem difficult to access the contents, due to the more column-like shape. I think I prefer your model best. That is a shame that it is no longer available.

    Reply
    • I agree with you. I think the model we have is perfect and I’m not sure why the manufacturer would discontinue it in favor of the taller ones. My kids could use the taller version with no problem, I’m sure, but smaller hands might have trouble getting their stuff out.

      Reply
  2. They’re awesome! I can’t believe they’ve lasted that long! Here, I have to buy a new one every year, can you believe it?

    Reply
    • Until I bought these, I was buying a new one every year too! On the other hand, I used the same one for years to carry my own lunch in when I used to work in an office so I think kids might be a little harder on them than adults, ha ha 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

