RSS Feed

Vintage Bundt Pan

We were driving home from the grocery store the other day and noticed a large garage sale going on in our neighborhood.  J and I quickly unloaded our groceries and walked straight over to the sale, because you have to jump on these things you know.  Most of the stuff was your usual garage sale fare and while I was looking at some pants, J was scoping out the items actually inside the garage.  He came over to me with a box in his hand and asked if I wanted it. The box contained a mint condition Nordic Ware bundt pan that was made sometime in the early seventies. I gleefully snatched it out of his hand and asked the lady how much she wanted for it since it didn’t have a price.  She said a dollar and it was sold!
DSC00068
It still has the original liner with recipes.
DSC00057
I, of course, had to come home and immediately bake a bundt cake.  I already had a decent bundt pan but it was dark-colored on the outside.  Because our oven is located in a brick wall, it tends to hold more heat than your average oven and darker pans tend to burn things.  I’ve had trouble baking bundt cakes that don’t burn or over-bake ever since we’ve lived here.  This vintage pan is shiny aluminum on the outside with a Teflon coating on the inside.  I know there are all kinds of warnings about Teflon but I don’t bake bundt cakes every day and, when I do, I’m careful not to scrape the coating so I’m not particularly worried about our Teflon intake because of this one particular pan.  Plus, I’ve never had a bundt cake turn-out so perfectly before!
DSC00048
I looked on ebay and there are quite a few of these vintage pans available ranging in price from $10-$30 dollars (with shipping), so I think my $1.00 pan is a very good deal.  Plus, this thing is so heavy it could be used as a home defense device if needed.
Screen shot 2013-09-10 at 9.41.41 AM
One thing I noticed on ebay is the wide variety of colors these bundt pans come in, especially the seventies ones in all the pretty harvest golds, greens and oranges.  I don’t think I would buy them to bake with because they might not do as well in my oven but I might buy them to start a whole bundt pan collection to display (or not, who knows).  I sure do like them, though, and they would look swell in my kitchen.
Screen shot 2013-09-10 at 10.07.25 AM
Screen shot 2013-09-10 at 10.08.37 AM
Screen shot 2013-09-10 at 10.10.39 AM
Anyway, I’m thrilled with my $1.00 vintage bundt pan complete with box.  I have a couple of other garage sale scores I need to share with you soon, as well.  So what about you?  What great buys have you found lately?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

6 responses »

  1. Great find! You can’t the $1 price tag. Although, now I want to eat cake. 😉

    Reply
  2. Nice find! I bought a bundt pan and the cashier asked me what these things were that people kept buying. I told her it was a bundt pan and she gave me a weird look. So I said, Yaknow, for baking cakes? And she replied with, You mean you can put these things in the oven?! Haha.

    Reply
  3. Renovating our 1963 kitchen we just found a Bundt pan behind the drawers after taking the countertops off. I’m curious how to know when it was made. We just bought this house so who knows how long it has been there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

