RSS Feed

Another Post About Books

Ever since I found a book at the library about living with books and posted about it, I’ve been obsessing about displaying our books in some manner.  I always have some stack of books sitting around in a haphazard fashion but ever since drooling over some of these gorgeous pictures, I can’t get the idea of having books in our home out of my head.
DSC02188
DSC02174
DSC02176
For the longest time I’ve tried to convince myself that I don’t need them and they are just ‘clutter’ but I love them and think they really bring something positive to my overall well-being. I found another book at the library about living with books from House Beautiful called Decorating with Books.
61ZPJBKS23L._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_
Honestly, I like Books Make a Home  more but I did find some captivating images in Decorating with Books that made me realize that I really need to display some books in our home.   Just looking at these images gives me  a serene feeling.  That’s something I would like to manifest in my own surroundings because I really feel that anything that relieves stress is a good thing.  Not to get all Freudian, but I’ve loved the library ever since I was a little kid and going there has always invoked these feelings in me. It would make sense that surrounding myself with books would give me that feeling in my own space.
DSC00162
DSC00163
DSC00165
Each of these images are of entirely different architectural and decorating styles, yet I love them all. They all give me that same deep contented feeling that I want to replicate. Inspiration struck me over the weekend and I decided to use a closet component that was gathering dust in the basement as a bookshelf next to my nightstand.  It’s not the most beautiful bookshelf but I figured I could live with it for a while to see if living with books is what I really want.  So far, I love walking into our bedroom to be greeted by this cheerful stack.  Not only that, but it gives me a place to display all of my collected Dwell magazines.
DSC00151
DSC00159
DSC00168
It’s only been a few days but this stack has convinced me that I want to display the rest of our books in the basement TV room.  Right now they are stuck in a shelf  that’s overrun with dvd’s and entertainment equipment.  I want to display them and let them shine in their own right.  That room has been slow going but progress is being made.  I hope to work on it before winter so we have a place to escape in the evening.

Do you live with books?  How do you manage them?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

8 responses »

  1. I do live with books—lots of em! They’re currently in our bedroom but I’ve been thinking about moving/storing them, I’m sick of the silverfish. Mega eeeew!

    Reply
  2. I love how that stack looks next to your sidetable! I have lots of books, some of which are still at my parents’ house. Our house is tiny, and I no shelves for them 😦 It’s sad, because I love how they look, but still haven’t figured it out for us. 😦

    Reply
    • I still like the stack of books next to my bedside and think I will keep it that way for now. Could you go vertical in your house with books? Maybe there’s a way to display them, even in a tiny house? Maybe you could add shelving toward the ceiling in your family room? Just thinking out loud 😉

      Reply
  3. Hey Jenny!!! how are you!!!
    I´m back from our wedding travel!!!! see you soon my friend!

    Lovely books and photos on this post, they look nice there!!!
    Have a wonderful week! 😉
    Laura

    Reply
  4. LOVE your organized book display. A room doesn’t feel complete without a couple of books in it…in my book. I’ll stop there 😉 I made a little corner library in my combo living room/dining room/office that makes me happy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

