RSS Feed

Currently In My Living Room

DSC00175
J’s parents are in the process of selling their house and part of that process involves purging their basement of a bunch of J’s ‘stuff’ (which, let’s be clear – when I am saying ‘stuff’, I’m being polite).  Stuff from his childhood, stuff from art school, stuff that he found in a closet in our old house and has hung onto for years, like that deer hoof gun rack on the right.  Admittedly some of it is my stuff, like the Raggedy Ann doll in the upper right corner of the picture, but most of it is not.  A lot of it isn’t even J’s.  Some of it belonged to somebody’s great something or the other and because of some incomprehensible invisible guilt, we are now the caretakers of even more stuff.  There is stuff on the other side of the room that isn’t even pictured, some of which belonged to our kids when they were little and which is hard to get rid off due to the aforementioned  guilt.  Now all of this stuff has to be sorted and either purged or assimilated into our house.  It looks and feels like we’re moving in all over again and I have actually cried over it a couple of times now.  I work from home and being surrounded by all of this stuff is driving me absolutely nuts.  I’m so busy and there simply isn’t enough time in the day to get everything done, including putting all of this stuff away. There has been a bright side, however.  A very happy discovery.
DSC00178
My mother-in-law was sitting on a mother load of Corelle dishes in my long-coveted Crazy Daisy (or Spring Blossom Green, depending on who you ask) pattern.  I’ve been wanting a set of it for years to use as my everyday dishes and she didn’t even know it.  They’re just her ‘old’ dishes that she had stuck in a box and left on a shelf years ago, long forgotten.  These beauties have completely brightened what has otherwise been a pretty rotten month.  It just goes to prove that there is always a sliver lining, or at least most of the time.  You might have to dig through 17 layers of stuff to find it, though.

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

7 responses »

  1. Nice find! Man, Iono what I’d do if my parents made me take all my stuff out of their storage. Rent my own?

    Reply
  2. Wow, it´s really a very happy discover!! 😉
    Have a nice day Jenny!
    Laura

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Spider Plant | sugarshellandbutterknife

  4. I know the feeling! I can’t believe I’m spilling it out, but our home office looks just like your living room right now. The worst is I have no one to blame but myself. Making all the crafts and DIY, preparing the magazine, it’s just a nightmare. Hopefully these last days of the year I’ll begin organizing. I don’t think I’ll be able to stand it until January!

    Lovely discovery!

    Reply
    • The living room is cleaned up now but the basement is a nightmare since we put most of the ‘stuff’ down there. Also, the hallway is still pretty bad but I guess we’re making some sort of progress.

      Your magazine turned-out amazing, by the way!! I love the Christmas pictures. They’re so inspiring and I’ve been busy decorating our house because of them.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

