RSS Feed

Spider Plant


I’m working from the bedroom today because I can’t stand being in our living room where my desk is located.  It’s still full of stuff and I am a firm believer that a cluttered environment leads to a cluttered mind.  Besides, being in our nice clean bedroom has given me time to contemplate my spider plant.
DSC01612
I’ve had this plant since my son was in the first grade. He went to a plant store in our village for a mother’s day field trip and brought this little tiny plant home to me.  I didn’t even know what it was at the time but we kept repotting it and taking care of it and one day, years later, it sprouted a baby spider plant.  My son is now in the sixth grade and this plant is still going strong.  After reading about them, I’ve discovered that they’re pretty hardy little plants that will thrive in most conditions.  I do need to move it to a bigger pot though, preferably one that’s hanging.  I looked around online and finally settled on this one from Fiskars.
514A6Hjf5NL._SL1500_
We’re going to hang the plant in the corner where I originally wanted to hang the KLÄDSAM mobile from IKEA.  I showed the mobile to J on a shopping trip there and he immediately gave it a thumbs-down, so no mobile was ever hung.  I think it will be a good spot for the plant because it will still receive enough indirect light to thrive and will also look nice in a space that’s been needing some ‘oomph’ for a while.
DSC00664
On another note, I’ve decided that I absolutely love the color on the bedroom walls, especially on a gray day.  We chose Gray Shimmer from Valspar and it definitely changes with the light.  Most of the time it reads pretty white but, on a day like today, it’s sort of a light moody gray that is very serene.  It’s a great color and I’m seriously considering using it when we get ready to paint the hallway and living room.  Of course, we’ll need to be able to walk through the hallway and living room first.

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

5 responses »

  1. Oh, I love that gray wall!! so, I´m thinking to paint one wall of my bedroom in that color too!!

    Have a nice week Jenny! ;-D
    Laura

    Reply
  2. I think a gray wall in your bedroom would look amazing!

    Reply
  3. Hi Jenny! I love that episode of Spiderpig! I think that is a beautiful plant, and it would look great in that corner. By the way, I’m also in love with your gray wall!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Fresh Flowers (?) and The January Cure | sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

