RSS Feed

Compromise

I’ve had my eye on this Bissa shoe cabinet from IKEA for quite some time. I want to put it next to the front door to collect all the shoes that end-up on the floor. Now that it’s winter, we have a large collection of boots overflowing the boot tray I purchased a few years back and melting snow is a big problem with our wood floors. Plus, I’ve been wanting to give that area a “landing zone” since we don’t have a true entry and thought it would be nice to put a basket or bowl on top to catch J’s wallet, cell phone, etc. I showed it to J, who was less than enthused and pointed out that putting snowy boots in a shoe cabinet might not be ideal. (Sigh. Always, Mr. Practical but he’s my Mr. Practical and that’s one of the many reasons I’m madly in love with him.) Still, we were near IKEA last weekend and stopped in to take a look.
bissa-shoe-cabinet-with--compartments__0179341_PE331762_S4
Our son N was with us (his sister had ditched us for parts of IKEA unknown because that’s what teenagers do) and I showed him the cabinet. He was super impressed and actually liked the pull-down fronts of the cabinet. He even told me it was “pretty”, so I ask him if Mama buys one will he use it for his shoes and the kid looks me dead in the eye and says “probably not”. J, of course, starts snort-laughing in that ‘told you so’ kind of way, so we move-on to the textiles. J and N disappear for a few minutes while I  peruse pillows that I don’t need and return with a sisal doormat.
sindal-door-mat__76475_PE087957_S4
J hands me the doormat and tells me that he’s found the answer to our problem. We’ll just use it in place of the boot tray and the rubber backing will catch any melting snow. It’s big enough to hold all of our shoes and boots and the kids will actually use it. “But”, I sputter, “it’s ugly and not at all what I envision for that area”. J, in his infinite patient wisdom says “yes, but what’s really important? What are we really trying to accomplish? We’re trying to protect the floor and have enough space for everyone’s footwear. I think this fits the bill and it’s cheaper than the shoe cabinet. Plus, it doesn’t have to be forever, so that gives us time to find a better permanent solution.” Fine. Compromise. Sold.
DSC00347
As it turns out, there’s even room for the cat. Plus, the boots are ending-up on the mat and there have been no more water on the floor issues. I have been contemplating buying one of the shoe cabinets for the warmer months and swapping it with the mat for colder months but that might be a bit excessive. Who knows if the kids would use it for their flip-flops anymore than they would for boots? I would probably just end-up with a pile of sandals next to the cabinet because J’s right. Sometimes it’s hard to let go of our fantasies, though, you know?

So what about you? What have you had to compromise on in order to meet your more realistic needs? (I’m still not giving up on my dreams of an organized and stylish entry!)

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

5 responses »

  1. It´s a nice solution for a time Jenny! 😉
    But I´m sure you´ll have an organized and stylish entry in the future, as you dream on!
    Have a nice week sweetie!

    Laura

    Reply
  2. Jenny, this reminds me of my daughter so much! I dream of having our home very organized, and her bedroom neat and tidy. No matter how many things I buy to help her, they end up collecting stuff, and the floor remains the same, with even more stuff! I guess we can dream, and hope to have better looking spaces, but then when you’re a mother you do have to compromise… I try to make my daughter to help and organize, but she doesn’t… one day soon she’ll grow even more and leave our home, and that’s when it’ll be as I “want it”… so I’m trying to find the hapiness in the mess, enjoying our life and feeling blessed to have her so close in our lives. Design and decor will be there forever. They won’t, right?

    By the way, I LOVE reading you. I always feel so connected to you, and you make me stop and think about things, like today. Thanks for that!

    Reply
    • Thank you, Rocio! I love reading you, too 😉 I think of you as my friend even though we’ve never met in person. I can tell through your words, and the care you put into your home and family, that you are a nice, kind person.

      Yes, I think design and decor will still be there when our children move out but then one day they’ll bring us grandkids and we’ll have to hide the breakable things again, ha ha!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: New Curtains | sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

