Green Lady

retro-green-lady-print-in-vintage-living-room
I realize I’ve been absent nearly all summer and for that I apologize. My dad is 80 and has had a lot of health problems recently including a nearly month-long hospital stay during July. Needless to say, between my dad, kids and work, there hasn’t been much time to do anything worth blogging about. I do have things I want to share and, hopefully, I’ll find some time soon to tell you all about them. In the meantime, I was so excited to see my living room up on RetroRenovation today. This is the second time it’s been on there and today’s story is all about our beloved Green Lady. When J and I saw this painting in a little thrift store in Kentucky back in April 2010, we knew she had to be ours. Plus, at a mere $13.00, the price was right. The only hitch was that we had no place to put it in our house. Fast forward a month and we were unexpectedly putting a bid on our current 1956 modern ranch. We had unknowingly purchased the green lady to hang over our then non-existent fireplace. It was meant to be.

Go over to RetroRenovation to read the history behind this painting. As soon as I got home from Kentucky, I researched her story since neither J nor I had ever seen it before. To find out that she outsold the Mona Lisa was pretty astounding since ML is certainly more well known than GL. In the meantime, I’ll try to do a post later this week. My daughter, K, turned 16 in August (sniff!) and I want to show you the evolution of her room. She was 11 when we moved in and has definitely added her own spin to things.

I hope you’ve had a great summer! I want to go old-school and have you share your “What I Did This Summer” essay in the comments below.  Okay, go! Hopefully it was better than mine! (I did get to go up to the Lake this summer for 5 days, which was lovely, so I can’t completely complain.)

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

14 responses »

  1. No apologies necessary. I have missed you and your posts, though. Congratulations on your Retro Renovation feature – AGAIN! 😀 I hope that you father is feeling well and that you are able to spend the time you need with him.

    Okay, playing along….. This summer I spent trying to finish my son’s room (almost there, still no blog post) and we were treated to two glorious vacations. The first was at Bethany Beach, DE and the second in Pigeon Forge, TN. Both were great and it was wonderful connecting with my young children and our extended families.

    I hope to see/hear more from you!

    Reply
    • Hi Christine! I’ve missed you, too. My dad’s not doing very well and we’re working on getting him into assisted living because he just can’t be by himself anymore. It’s been a long, slow process both emotionally and physically. This sandwich generation is no joke!

      I’m glad you got to have TWO vacations!! That’s awesome. I like the Pigeon Forge area a lot. I also secretly envy your beach vacation 😉 I’ve been waiting to see your son’s room finale. I’ve seen what you’ve done so far and it’s looking great. I especially like the maps you’re using as window coverings.

      Reply
      • Thank you for your kind words. I am very sorry to hear about your father. I guess you already know to make every moment count. Hugs to you.

        As to my son’s room, I have a few things to finish. Then, the arduous task of a blog post. Honestly, I do manage a few tweaks here and there in our home, but no time to blog about it. 😉 It is great to reconnect.

  2. Hi Jenny!!! Don’t worry, first things, first! I was wondering where you were, and missed you! Hopefully your dad gets better!

    I loved your green lady and the story behind! It’s definitely a great piece in your living room. Oh, and congratulations on your retro renovation feature again!!!!

    Our Summer was so short, I can’t believe it’s over. Our daughter only had a month of vacations, and we didn’t get to go anywhere, so it didn’t feel like Summer 😦 The first few weeks I spent them organizing stuff at home, but then suddenly I got lots of projects and so now I’m filled with things to do all day long, 24-7!

    Hopefully things settle so I can have a little time for myself again 🙂

    Hugs!

    Reply
  3. Hi Jenny!! it´s so nice to hear you again!!! 😀

    First, I´m so sorry for your dad, but it´s good to know that he gets better now!
    And second, congratulations for that good news about your retro renovation. It´s a nice story! 😉

    Well, I hope to hear more about you in few days.
    Big hug and take care so much!
    Laura * Littlefew

    Reply
  4. Hi Jenny, just dropping to say hi, hopefully everything is ok 😉

    Reply
    • Hi Rocio,

      Everything is okay 😉 We moved my Dad into assisted living yesterday which is great. It was so much work, though, and I’m exhausted. I hope everything is well with you! I know you’ve been extremely busy with the new issue of Little*Haus.

      Reply
      • Hi Jen!

        Yes, we’ve been quite busy, and now it’s time for the Winter issue. This is never-ending! I was just dropping by hoping everything is ok with your Dad and family. Kisses!

  5. Went over and read more about this little green lady. So interesting that you gravitate towards time specific pieces without even knowing it! I always appreciate a bit of art history, thanks!

    Reply
  6. Hi Jenny!! how many time without your news!! are you Ok? I´ve seen today a commentary on my post about Emma´s room, and I wonder what´s about your life!!! I hope it´s all ok.

    Well, send you a big hug dear! ;D
    Laura * LIttlefew Blog

    Reply
  7. Hi Jenny!!!!

    Just dropping by to wish you the best for this 2015!!!!!!! How’s your Dad and the rest of your family? Hopefully everything is great!!!!

    Hugs and kisses !!!!!

    Reply
  8. Hi Jenny!!!

    Thanks for your kind words on my birthday post… we had a lovely evening with the rest of our family, so it was the best thing I could ask for 🙂

    How are you doing? Is everything ok? I sure hope so 🙂

    Hugs!

    Reply
  9. Hi Jenny! I was thinking about you today… you’ve been away for quite a while now. I hope everything is ok, and you are just enjoying life. 😉 Kisses!

    Reply
  10. Hey Jenny! How are you?? I saw a comment on one of my post so I´m thinking of you!
    I hope you´re ok!!

    Have a nice weekend!
    Laura

    Reply

Leave a comment