DIY Light Blocker

DSC00334
For a long time, we needed a blind for this little window in our bedroom but I could never quite find exactly what I wanted or needed at a price I was willing to pay. It also occurred to me that somewhere in the bowels of my house, I had a black curtain panel used in our last house that might be useful in such an application.  After a two-day search, I finally found it in the basement under the tool bench (???) and started my project.  I cut the panel to size, hemmed the sides and used some clip rings and a 40-inch shower tension rod from Bed, Bath & Beyond. I decided to go with a tension shower rod for the stability and lack of permanence in case I decide to upgrade down the road.
DSC00485
It has worked beautifully and only cost around $11.00 for the hardware by using several BB&B coupons. (I love that they stack coupons!)
DSC00480
There is still enough fabric left from the curtain panel to construct some sort of blind or shade for the large window, as well.
DSC00411
We also finally agreed upon, and purchased, a ceiling fan for the master bedroom.  It’s only taken a year to decide what to do with the much-despised overhead light.  We contemplated something retro and also contemplated a different ceiling fan but could never quite come to an agreement.  J still wanted some light overhead but I didn’t want to go with a traditional looking ceiling fan with one of those ugly overhead light kits, so we did nothing.  Now that summer is upon us and it’s getting warm in our room at night, I started my search again. Finally, finally, finally, we found one we both agreed upon with nice clean modern lines at a price we could afford but then couldn’t find it in stock anywhere.  I contacted Electric Supplies Online and their awesome customer service department (hi, Kristine!) helped me get in the queue for one as soon as they were available.  After a month’s wait, I received a shipping notice and it should be here tomorrow.
c00d16dd-edff-402d-be04-021ced251a81_400
I can’t wait to get it hung.  After a full year, this will bring our master bedroom renovation to completion. Things don’t always move swiftly around here but that might also have something to do with our propensity for jumping around from project to project as the mood strikes as well as a lack of funding.  That’s okay, though.  After all, slow and steady wins the race, or something like that.  What projects are you working on right now?

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

2 responses »

  1. Hi Jenny! I love your light blocker, especially its cost! Unbelievable! And your bedroom fan is such good news!

    Me, I’m stuck with lots of projects! Laura and I are working on the next Little Haus issue, hopefully by next week we’ll have finished, and then I’m trying to organize my house, especially my home office. It’s more like the clutter room, so you can have a clue of what it means, yikes!

    Yes, I went to Argentina to participate on a TV show, it has been such an amazing dream come true. It for a Latinamerican channel, but I’m hoping I can get my hands on it so you can all see it on youtube.

    I’ll sure let you know 😉

    Reply
    • Hi Rocio!
      I’m looking forward to the next issue of Little Haus. You both do such an excellent job and it’s always so beautiful. So many gorgeous and inspiring images.

      I hope I can see you on the TV show. It’s very exciting to ‘know’ someone that’s been on a national TV show! I loved seeing the pictures you took in Argentina. What a lovely place.

      Good luck with your office. I’m looking forward to seeing the pictures. I know what you mean about the clutter room, only ours is the basement 😉

      Reply

Leave a comment