New Art

DSC00468
My dad gave me $40.00 for my birthday (thanks, Dad!) this year and I tucked it away until I found something I really wanted.  K has a 15 year-old friend named Ryan who is an artist.  He recently participated in an art show at a local nature reserve and we went to show our support.  As soon as I saw this painting, I knew I wanted it and just where it should hang.  I think it’s definitely a great birthday present.  I love the blues and have been trying to incorporate more of that color into our home.  It’s a nice contrast to all the orange I have going on and I believe it complements the other pieces we already have.
DSC00472
I think it’s a nice addition and it made me feel good to support Ryan.  I told my dad what I’d bought and he was very pleased to have a hand in supporting a talented young person as well, which we both feel is very important.  Plus, I get to see my present every time we have dinner!

Have you bought any new art lately or been busy creating some?  Let me know.

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

6 responses »

  1. Hi Jenny!

    I think it’s a beautiful piece of art, but I love how you supported a young artist as well. That is amazing! I haven’t bought art lately, I actually wish I could take some time to paint myself, for it’s something I love to do…

    Reply
  2. It´s so nice! I love this personal kind of art!
    Big hug Jenny!! 😉

    Laura

    Reply
  3. Hi Jenny!

    Just stopping by to say hi. Hope everything is ok with you and your family!

    Reply
    • Hi Rocio,

      Thanks for checking-in. Actually, my dad has been in the hospital for over a week and I’ve been very busy with that. He’s doing better now so hopefully things can get back to ‘normal’ around here. Otherwise, we’re all doing pretty well. I hope you’re doing okay!

      Love,

      Jenny
      XOXO

      Reply

Leave a comment