My Fireplace on Retro Renovation

Imagine my surprise Friday morning when I went to Retro Renovation‘s site and saw my own fireplace staring back at me.

Screen shot 2013-02-08 at 9.54.37 AM

I was super excited about it the whole weekend.  This was an earlier picture I had uploaded during one of Pam’s weekend uploader parties, so it’s not exactly current with the tweaks I’ve made, but I’m pleased as punch about it nonetheless.

For reference, here’s the fireplace sitting area now.DSC01710

You can see my lovely new lights in the background over the table.  Also, my Shag art is up.DSC01708

That plant doesn’t have a permanent home.  It migrates and is only there for the time-being.  Once it gets warm enough it will move back outside.  Visually, I don’t really like it there but I’m always fighting myself with function over form.  I have to remind myself that we do actually live here and that’s a good place for the plant.  That’s also why I have those ugly chunky footstools.  I don’t really like those either but we are actually using that space as I’d hoped we would when I purchased them.  We sit there having coffee in the morning, chatting in the evening with a fire or reading all the time.  I also work there sometimes because it’s a change of scenery and nice to put my feet up.  So, once again, function over form.  I just want to make things look as nice as possible while we go on actually living in our house. There are some things I like better in the after pictures.  For instance, I LOVE my Shag art and  those wooden trees are a lot better in the bar than on the table, making things look a lot less cluttered.  I like the pillows with their bit of blue.

Anyway (after that weird digression), I just wanted to say thanks to Retro Renovation for featuring my fireplace on their main story all weekend.  That was swell!

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

5 responses »

  1. That is super cool! It would make me giddy, too : ]

    Reply
  2. Thank YOU! Hey, I went looking for your blog before I posted the photo — I thought you might have one — but it did not come up easily. So I’ve added a link now! Beautiful space!!!! xoxo Pam

    Reply
    • Thank you so much! I have been a daily ready (with a very few exceptions ) since April 2010, when we put the bid on our house. I think I found your blog that same day when I went searching for “1950’s ranch house” to see what we were getting ourselves into;-) It’s been such a treat and, not to sound super corny, you’ve been my inspiration. I’ve gained such a plethora of knowledge and have a true concern for my house that I might not otherwise. ~Jenny

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Green Lady | sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a comment