RSS Feed

Minor Changes to the Master Bedroom

We’re getting ready to make some changes to the master bedroom.  When we first moved into the house, we wanted to have the carpet removed from the master bedroom, as it had been removed everywhere else to expose our gorgeous hardwoods. We hired a company to polish our floors and asked for an estimate to remove the carpet.  The guy that came out to give the estimate was an older gentleman who basically argued with J that he felt bedrooms should have carpet.  We insisted that we didn’t want the carpet and asked that it be removed during the time he was here.  When we came back to the house, after he’d finished the job and left, our hardwoods were absolutely beautiful and there was still carpet in the bedroom. He didn’t charge us for the removal.  He simply ignored us.  We had to move in at that point and decided to deal with it later.  Well, later is now because the carpet is gross, even after cleaning, and we’re done with carpet.   You can see it in the corner of this picture.  It’s that color somewhere between beige and white, very popular a few years ago, with a grime collecting low pile.  To put it more succinctly – blech.
DSC01685
In anticipation of my birthday trip to IKEA, I had been perusing their website for area rugs for our bedroom.  I found some black and white striped ones (SÖFTEN) that I felt would fit the bill.  I want something on either side of the bed because nothing is worse than a cold floor in the middle of the night.  Lo and behold, when I was cruising Apartment Therapy one day during the cool bedroom contest, or whatever they were calling it, I saw this picture and knew I was on the right track.
513f697e74c5b60d28000019._w.540_
I like how the rugs look on either side of the bed against the backdrop of the wood. When I went to IKEA, I snagged the last two in stock along with the accompanying anti-slip stuff.
DSC01854
Before we start pulling-up the carpet, though, we have decided to go ahead and paint our room.  It hasn’t been painted since we moved in except for the one black wall behind our bed.  DSC00621
It’s painted with flat white contractor paint that is impossible to clean.  If you scrub too hard you wipe the paint right off the wall.  We’re leaving the black wall because we LOVE it and are still going with white for the other walls and doors.  I went to Lowe’s last weekend to pick-up some paint chips and brought home 24 different shades from which to choose.  In hindsight, there can be such a thing as too many choices.  After a week of holding them up in every conceivable light, we finally narrowed it down to these with the final contender being ‘Gray Shimmer’.  It does, in fact, have a hint of gray but mostly reads white. (This picture is a little on the dark side.)  I really liked ‘Smoke’ but J thought it might too dark when it was all over the walls.  He’s probably right.
DSC01868
While we’re painting and ripping-up carpet, we’re going to go ahead and change out the overhead light fixture as well.  We have a ‘boob light’ in an oil rubbed bronze finish.  I’m tired of staring at the giant breast over my bed and am ready to move on to something more appropriate to the house.
DSC01876
Here is is all lit-up. Doesn’t it appear to have veins?  Yikes.
DSC01878
The problem is that we can’t find a light that is in our price range, we both agree upon and fits the ascetic of our 1956 modern house.  We do both sort of agree on the CALYPSO from IKEA (although it kind of looks like an inverted breast). The price is right ($29.99) and, in person, it’s actually a very attractive light.  It’s bigger than it looks and I think a bigger light would look good in our room.  The one we have now is on the small side for such a large space.  The only issue with it is that it isn’t square.  (I’d like to point out that this is J’s issue, not mine.  He has very definite ideas about the shape of things coming into our house.  I think that’s the graphic designer in him or he’s nuts.  I’m not sure which. Either way, he’s my nut ;-))
calypso-ceiling-lamp__25278_PE105169_S4
We’re still on the fence about this light and, therefore, still looking.  We have gone to a dedicated lighting store, Lowe’s, Menards, Home Depot and looked at countless websites, at thousands of lights, and still haven’t found ‘the one’.  Eventually we’ll find it or just break-down and buy this one. I’m not sure yet, but I’ll keep you posted.

So those are the tweaks we’re planning for our master bedroom.  I want to work on this over the next few weeks so I can move-on to outside projects.  I’m supposed to be working on our basement bar area but now that the weather is turning nice, I know I’m not going to want to be down there anyway.

What projects are you working on right now?  Are your thoughts turning to spring or are you planning something major on the inside?  Share!

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

12 responses »

  1. Sounds like BIG changes to me. You have a wonderful vision, follow it! As for the shape of the light. Tell him that you need to balance the corners and angles with round and circular. I don’t know if you noticed, but I always try to balance the two. Maybe he is just sad that the ‘boob’ is going? Can’t wait to see you update!

    Reply
    • I agree with the whole ‘balancing’ thing! I don’t mind a circle here and there to soften things up a bit. I don’t think he’s sad about the boob going, though, ha ha 😉 He hates that light as much as I do!

      Reply
  2. Oh, I love these ideas for bedroom!!! so so pretty!!
    Have a nice day Jenny!!

    Laura
    littlefew.blogspot.com

    Reply
  3. I can’t wait to see how your bedroom turns out, Jenny! The lamp you’re getting is beautiful, and all the things you bought look so amazing!

    As for my plans, I don’t have much time for them, because I’m actually taking an art course and I spend my afternoons making my homework. It’s something I really enjoy, but I wish I had the time to tackle my home projects as well. Hopefully soon. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Pingback: I NEED This (okay I really WANT this) | sugarshellandbutterknife

  5. Pingback: Staying True to Your Roots | sugarshellandbutterknife

  6. Pingback: Teeny Tiny Project | sugarshellandbutterknife

  7. Pingback: Lemon Brownies | sugarshellandbutterknife

  8. Pingback: Spider Plant | sugarshellandbutterknife

  9. Pingback: DIY Light Blocker | sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a Reply

