Apple Tart

I made this tart the other evening with apples from our very own tree.  It was simple and delicious.  Now is the season for the very best apple treats.  Don’t delay, and make something apple-y and sublime for your family tonight.

Apple Tart

Apple Filling

4 cups sliced (cooking) apples, peeled (approx. 4 total)

1/2 cup granulated sugar

3 Tbsp. flour

1 1 1/2  tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

1/4 tsp. ground ginger

Mix apples, granulated sugar, flour and spices in a large bowl.  Place in the refrigerator.  Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Pastry

For 10″ one crust pie

1/2 cup shortening

1 1/3 cups flour

1/2 tsp. salt

3 to 4 tbsp. cold water

Cut shortening into flour and salt until the mixture resembles small peas.  Sprinkle in water, one tablespoon at a time, tossing with fork, until all flour is moistened and pastry no longer sticks to the side of the bowl.  (Note:  When I made this, the humidity was very high.  It only took 2 tbsp. of water  to moisten all the flour because the air was so moist.  Humidity will make a difference, so pay close attention.) Gather the pastry into a ball and transfer to flour-covered counter, table or pastry cloth.  Roll pastry into a circle, approximately 10″.  (If you don’t have a special rolling pin cover, I highly recommend one.  My mother-in-law got me one for Christmas and it, literally, changed my life.)  Transfer crust to baking sheet.  Dump apple filling in the middle of the crust and fold crust around the edges, rustic style.  Dot butter on apple mixture and sprinkle brown sugar on top, for extra oomph.  Bake for 35 to 40 minutes, until apples are soft and pastry is lightly browned.  Cool slightly, serve warm with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream, if desired.

I love making tarts because they are much easier than pies and every bit as delicious, especially when using apples that came from your own trees.  What a special treat.

What apple delights have you made lately?  Please share!

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

3 responses »

  1. OOOH! I am craving fall apple baked goods now 🙂
    It looks yummy!

    http://www.myboulangerie.wordpress.com

    Reply
  2. I would eat this just the way cookie monster would. Looks tasty.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: My Mom’s Chicken Pot Pie | sugarshellandbutterknife

Leave a comment