Macklemore Thrift Shop Challenge!

Macklemore-Challenge

Last week, Young House Love issued the thrift shop challenge.  We decided to accept that challenge.  First, familiarize yourself:

Challenge no. 1 – go to the thrift store with $20 in my pocket.0127131432

Challenge no. 2 – spend the $20 and take a photograph of the goods you come home with.

Here are the items we considered:

0127131434a0127131436012713143801271314400127131442012713144401271314450127131446012713144901271314500127131501

Sorry for the blurry picture, but I just had to include it.  In case you can’t tell, the upholstery has a water wheel and stream scene printed on it.  This was a three piece set.  It was pretty tempting but we left it for someone else that could give it a good home.  So what did we get?

DSC01660DSC01664

The napkin rings and the Dora thermos (those suckers are expensive and this one was brand new, with tags, for $1.99)!  I really did want that marble horse, but I just couldn’t think of a place for it so I left that, too. I actually only spent $5.03 total of my $20.00.  I kept saying everything in there was “expensive”, ha ha.

Challenge no. 3 – Find one item referenced in the song and snap a picture of it.

I found the sweetest, cutest velcro shoes I could find.

0127131503

I didn’t buy those either (but I kind of wanted to).

Thanks Young House Love for issuing the Thrift Store Challenge!  It was a lot of fun!

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

6 responses »

  1. I actually have that marble horse, well two of them. They are bookends. I ‘borrowed’ them from my parents.

    Reply
  2. Haha, glad I’m not the only one. I feel mega cheap thinking, This is too expensive!, when I’m thrifting but I think it comes down to knowing market value better than the people setting the prices. If I can get something brand new for cheaper, it’s hardly a deal.

    Reply
    • When I was in the thrift store, there was another mom in there with a little boy. He wanted this ugly, super dirty soccer ball lamp that was marked at $15! The mom said “no, it’s too expensive” and I laughed and said I was thinking the same thing. We were both trying to convince the little boy that he could get a much nicer, cleaner lamp for a better price somewhere else, ha ha. Poor kid. Double-teamed by two cheap moms 😉

      Reply
  3. I like the marble horse too, but it’s not worth buying if you don’t have a place for it! Good deal on the Dora thermos though!

    Reply
    • I’ve been making a concerted effort not to buy decorative items just because I like them. I don’t want things to become too cluttered and have actually been trying to get rid of things before acquiring more things. Funny thing about the Dora thermos – I bought it because it was such a good price, and we use those things all the time, but my 14 year old daughter LOVED it. Apparently sometime between between age 8 and 8th grade, Dora became popular with girls again. Who knew?

      Reply

Leave a comment