Getting DIY Christmas Crafty

I was thumbing through the winter issue of DIY magazine and saw this cute gnome shadowbox on page 33.

DSC01444

I thought he was pretty adorable and wanted to make a version of my own.  Strangely enough, on pages 24-25, there were pictures of gnomes available from paper-source.com that looked nearly identical to the little guy in the shadowbox frame.  I decided to cut those out of the magazine and use them for my little gnome project.  I got the frames from IKEA for $1.99 a piece (I made two of these).  I used a plain white piece of paper cut to size and glued-on the little gnome.  Then I took a fine point Sharpie and drew the falling snowflakes.  That was it.

DSC01442

I think he turned-out pretty well and I made one for my BFF, too, which I hope she likes.  I showed it to J and he asked why I had made a picture of “Missile Command Gnome”.  I didn’t know what he was talking about and then he showed me this.

26023_scr

I guess it does look a little like that although my gnome is clearly a Christmas gnome and those are clearly snowflakes.  Right?  Right.

Anyway, I like him and that’s all that matters.  He’s happy sitting next to my newly acquired, but long coveted, Charlie Brown Christmas tree that I purchased at Aldi for $7.99 the other day. (The kids didn’t really need milk.  I’m pretty sure my priorities are straight.)

DSC01439

This isn’t the only DIY Christmas Crafty project I’ve been working on, though.  I have another exciting project to share with you tomorrow!

What crafty holiday projects have you been working on?  Share!

About sugarshellandbutterknife

I am a work-at-home mother of two, daughter K who is 16 and son N who is 12. I live in a 1956 mid-mod ranch with my children and the love of my life, J. We're slowly renovating our house on a budget and love all things DIY. I hope to make this a place where frugal-minded folks like myself can exchange ideas, gain inspiration and find encouragement to tackle whatever life throws our way.

2 responses »

  1. The fact that he *does* kinda look like a Missile Command gnome makes it even MORE awesome! One of my favorite things to do is cut up magazines/catalogs to make things – I never would have thought to frame it!!

    P..S I’m gonna have to check if my Aldi has any Charlie Brown trees. Coveting.

    Reply
    • That is what we’re officially calling him – “Missile Command Gnome”. I wrapped-up the other one for my friend Jen and used your instructions to make a giant poinsettia to go on top of the package. It has to be the most awesome present ever, ha ha!

      Yes, definitely check your Aldi! I found it in the section where they sell various “special purchase” items, such as a fire safe, some thick cotton towels, an air compressor and a Charlie Brown Christmas tree – random things. My eyes zeroed in on it and it was in my cart in 1.5 seconds flat 😉

      Reply

Leave a comment